Thread: adding XP to a linux dual boot system

Beans

adding XP to a linux dual boot system

hi
    I am currently dual booting ubuntu/ mint but wish to triple boot with a small XP partition too(for Word and games that I cannot get to run in Linux)
    I have the cdroms for all three os
    What is the best way to approach this process?
    Thanks in advance

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: adding XP to a linux dual boot system

if you isntall windows, it is going to write grub off and replace it with its own MBR.

you can either use a supergrub cd to reisntall it, or reinstall one of mint or ubuntu partitions, which would also install grub.

my 23 cents

Beans

I am not an expert on the matter, but Ubuntu has the best dectection of other operating systems (of the 3 mentioned), so I suggest you install Xp, then mint, and finally Ubuntu. Ubuntu will see the others and will set up GRUB with the choices

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

As you already have mint/ubuntu installed things will be a little bit more difficult as windows prefers the first partition of the first hard drive. Need to know more information such as how many hard drives you have, present partitions etc as windows will not boot from within a logical partition. Post the output of
    sudo fdisk - lu
    Suspect you may have to shift some partitions around with gparted, install windows and then reinstall grub, but others may know of an easier way.
    Windows is the best virus detector on the market!
    Ubuntu attracts Human Beings - Windows attracts viruses and worms

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by bumanie View Post