Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Access via Putty

Beans

Access via Putty

I am a newbie trying to learn Ubuntu Server. So far, I have been having alot of success and I am enjoying the learning process. However, I can only access the server via the terminal on the server itself. I have been trying to use Putty to access it via SSH from my Windows desktop, but the connection times out every time and does not even get to the point where I get a prompt on the Putty screen.

I installed the openssh-server via this command:
    sudo apt-get install openssh-server

the server has a static ip address

What am I doing wrong?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Re: Access via Putty

Do you have a router? If so, are you forwarding the SSH port through your router to the static IP address of the server? If not, the SSH request will never get past the router.

Bob

Beans

We do have a router. I don't see why the request would go through the router because my desktop is on the same lan as the server.

Beans

excuse me, I should have said subnet, not lan!

my desktop is on the same subnet as the server.

Beans

Interesting, I just realized that I cannot even ping the new Ubuntu server. Some kind of default security that would stop that? I gave the server a static ip and set the correct gateway. I can ping out from the server to any ip address local or remote.

Beans

OK. Problem was related to the fact that the ip address changed. I can connect now.

So, I guess the question turns to this: How does one set a static ip address on ubuntu server? I used the command: sudo ifconfig eth0 x.x.x.x. netmask x.x.x.x

and sudo route add default gw x.x.x.x

Rebooted and it went back to DHCP

How do I remove DHCP?

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 15.10 Wily Werewolf

First, check the port is open on the server. List the listening ports with this command:
    netstat -ltn
    and make sure you can see an entry for either :::22 or 0.0.0.0:22. If not, the server isn't listening.