Thread: Change from Kubuntu to Ubuntu

Hybrid View

Beans

Change from Kubuntu to Ubuntu

Hello I am new to Ubuntu and have got myself into a bit of a pickle. I installed the latest Kubuntu onto my new system which until then had no other OS. I now want to install Ubuntu but have no idea how to go about it. I can't seem to find any options to format my HDD so that it would be how it was when I installed Kubuntu. Any help you can offer would be greatly greatly appreciated!

Gaz

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Re: Change from Kubuntu toUbuntu

Ubuntu and Kubuntu are the same thing (same repositories, same applications, etc.). The only difference is that Kubuntu comes with KDE preinstalled, whereas Ubuntu uses Gnome by default.

You have two options at this point :
    1. Install Ubuntu as you did with Kubuntu. If you come from Windows, you're probably used to this. Easiest and most straightforward. Or :
    2. Install the ubuntu-desktop metapackage and sort it later, which means you'll still be able to run your KDE applications until you remove them. This can be messy, but is the fastest way. Next time you log in, just choose "Gnome" from the Session menu at the login prompt.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

THey are the same except for the user interface. Open a konsole & do
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
    oh, choose gdm instead of kdm during the process. You'll see what I mean during the install.

No need to reformat or anything.

Beans

Thanks for the quick respone. I think option 1 is best for me! I have Ubuntu on disc but don't know how to install it from Kubuntu. Do I need to format the HDD? If so is it possible to do that within KDE?

Beans

I;m not sure if you can install it inside kubuntu but you can boot from the ubuntu cd in bios and shrink the partitions using GParted

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

Quote Originally Posted by Gradeo View Post