Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Realtek 8111C Issues: No link, but works in windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    21

    Realtek 8111C Issues: No link, but works in windows

    I just built a new system with the below mobo and integrated NIC and I'm dual-booting with Windows XP.

    GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R and the LAN chipset is a Realtek 8111C.

    In windows the NIC functions perfectly fine. However, in 8.10 Intrepid the NIC shows up, but is not showing link on the adapter. I reboot into Windows and it works just fine, so I know it's getting link from the switch. I tried to toggle the interface with the below commands to see if maybe it's getting stuck when the OS was coming up, but that didn't work either. What gives?

    Code:
    sudo ifdown eth0
    sudo ifup eth0

    **Edit**
    I've been doing some more searching and the particular problem I have seems to be related to a Wake on LAN setting in Windows. I took care of that, but it's still not coming up with link. Next up is to pull the power plug, wait 15 seconds, then reboot and see if that fixes it.
    Last edited by BobSutan; January 9th, 2009 at 05:30 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Beans
    118

    Re: Realtek 8111C Issues: No link, but works in windows

    found this in a forum search:--

    Re: Problems with Realtek RTL8168C/8111C
    Solved it thanks to this:
    http://www.jamesonwilliams.com/hardy-r8168.html
    "the way up and the way down, are the same" (heraclitus)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: Realtek 8111C Issues: No link, but works in windows

    Quote Originally Posted by x22 View Post
    found this in a forum search:--

    Re: Problems with Realtek RTL8168C/8111C
    Solved it thanks to this:
    http://www.jamesonwilliams.com/hardy-r8168.html
    Saw that when I was doing my searches. I got it working with the hard reboot by the way, so I think it is something to do with the WoL after all.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: Realtek 8111C Issues: No link, but works in windows

    Just a heads-up that cold reboot by pulling the plug and booting straight into Ubuntu got it to work. Time to find a permanent solution so I don't have to pull the plug every time I reboot.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Beans
    21

    Re: Realtek 8111C Issues: No link, but works in windows

    Turned off Wake on LAN in the bios and it works fine now. Thanks guys!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Beans
    4

    Re: Realtek 8111C Issues: No link, but works in windows

    Hi guys!!! This worked for me:

    http://www.jamesonwilliams.com/hardy-r8168.html

    Hope it helps!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •