Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kurdistan
    Beans
    632
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    in Kubuntu I could choose my monitor and when , I chose the right monitor I could get more Refresh Rate (low refresh rate hurts my eyes) ,

    in ubuntu I go to change my screen resloution and then I click on detect display but nothing happens.

    my monitor is LG Flatron L1730S

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    411

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    Maybe consider editing etc/X11/xorg.conf

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    Quote Originally Posted by darrelljon View Post
    Maybe consider editing etc/X11/xorg.conf
    When ever editing system files always remmber to back them up.

    Do you have the correct drivers installed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    3,931
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    try
    Code:
    gksudo displayconfig-gtk
    check the model drop down box to see if you can select your display there.
    UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things. -- Doug Gwyn
    SystemRescueCd | Dual Boot | psychocats | FAQ

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kurdistan
    Beans
    632
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    thanks but I already found a tutorial !

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    I had a problem with my monitor being stuck in 'safe mode'(640 480)
    after installing proprietary Nvidia drivers for my Geforce mx440.
    the screen resolution window couldn't fix it and neither could
    the Nvidia 'control panel'.(they wouldn't go higher)

    running : gksudo displayconfig-gtk
    then setting apropriate values fixed it.
    fixed it
    Thanks!
    (hope this helps someone too)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    I'm having the same problem. If I don't use the nvidia driver, everything works well (except graphic-intensive applications). If I use the nvidia driver, I'm stuck with two resolution choices: 640x480 and 320x240. However, intensive graphics are smoother.

    I tried editing xorg.conf, but I haven't had any success with that. However, I may have been editing the wrong stuff, so please don't exclude editing xorg.conf from your suggestions.

    When I type
    Code:
    $ gksudo displayconfig-gtk
    Nothing happens. I tried
    Code:
    $ gksudo displayconfig-gtk --debug
    Output (it requests password in the normal GUI popup about 14 lines in) :
    Code:
    No ask_pass set, using default!
    xauth: /tmp/libgksu-iOwCOi/.Xauthority
    STARTUP_ID: gksudo/displayconfig-gtk/1874-0-james-desktop-ubuntu-10gb-hdd_TIME1521041
    cmd[0]: /usr/bin/sudo
    cmd[1]: -H
    cmd[2]: -S
    cmd[3]: -p
    cmd[4]: GNOME_SUDO_PASS
    cmd[5]: -u
    cmd[6]: root
    cmd[7]: --
    cmd[8]: displayconfig-gtk
    buffer: -GNOME_SUDO_PASS-
    brute force GNOME_SUDO_PASS ended...
    Yeah, we're in...
    xauth: /tmp/libgksu-iOwCOi/.Xauthority
    xauth_env: /var/run/gdm/auth-for-james-kaMW43/database
    dir: /tmp/libgksu-iOwCOi
    If I type the command after already making that terminal root:
    Code:
    buffer: --
    buffer: --
    buffer: --
    buffer: --
    buffer: --
    brute force GNOME_SUDO_PASS ended...
    No password prompt found; we'll assume we don't need a password.
    xauth: /tmp/libgksu-Bmmmmd/.Xauthority
    xauth_env: /var/run/gdm/auth-for-james-kaMW43/database
    dir: /tmp/libgksu-Bmmmmd
    By the way, the "buffer: --" actually repeats so many times that it goes off the terminal screen.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks!


    EDIT:
    Contents of xorg.conf:
    Code:
    # nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
    # nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (buildd@palmer)  Fri Apr  9 10:35:18 UTC 2010
    
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        Option         "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "auto"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
        # HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "CRT-0"
        HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
        VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BoardName      "GeForce FX 5200"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        Option         "TwinView" "0"
        Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
        Option         "metamodes" "640x480_60 @1280x1024 +0+0"
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
        EndSubSection
    EndSection
    Last edited by James1293; June 7th, 2010 at 10:41 PM. Reason: Added details (again).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    Does anyone have any ideas? Even a probably-won't-work idea is better than nothing =D

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    2

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    Try this:

    sudo apt-get install read-edid


    Lets it probe the monitor for usable modes.

    Worked for me

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    10

    Re: how to identify my monitor in ubuntu ?

    I installed read-edid; i ran sudo get-edid, and the output gave a bunch of stuff ending with
    "Your EDID is probably invalid."

    Any other ideas? =D

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •