Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: [SOLVED] 32 or 64 bits?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    13

    [SOLVED] 32 or 64 bits?

    Hi, I'm new in the Ubuntu community and need to install a program. But in order to do that, I have to know if my OS is 32 or 64 bits... Actually I don't even know exactly what that means... How do I get that information? Please, I want to know how to do that, not just an answer like "oh, if your processor is ***, then it's ** bits".

    One last thing: this 32-64-bits-thing is an OS property and a processor property too? I've searched for that in the net I didn't get it.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    United States
    Beans
    295
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    type in
    Code:
    uname -a
    in a terminal

    if you see something like
    Code:
    x86_64 GNU/Linux
    then it is 64 bit, otherwise, is 32
    --Gmxgeek

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    England
    Beans
    2,568

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    Try uname

    uname -m

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Swap
    Beans
    1,061
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    Quote Originally Posted by FaBioW114 View Post
    Hi, I'm new in the Ubuntu community and need to install a program. But in order to do that, I have to know if my OS is 32 or 64 bits... Actually I don't even know exactly what that means... How do I get that information? Please, I want to know how to do that, not just an answer like "oh, if your processor is ***, then it's ** bits".

    One last thing: this 32-64-bits-thing is an OS property and a processor property too? I've searched for that in the net I didn't get it.

    Thank you!
    Type in terminal
    Code:
    uname -m
    i686 - 32bits
    x_64 - 64bits
    Be Safe. Use Linux.
    Double your drive space. Delete Windows.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    702

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    It is a processor thing.

    If you processor supports it, you can run either 32-bit or 64-bit. If it isn't supporting it, you can run only 32-bit.

    64-bit has the potential of beeing slightly faster and supporting more than 3.8 GB memory, but some user have problems with it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Ireland
    Beans
    550
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    Just as a note, if you want to check how much ram you have, open a terminal and type
    free -m
    The number under total is the amount of ram if its less than 4000, 32 Linux is fine, if its more than 4000 better off with 64 ( if your processor supports it ) 64 is not as good as 32 but its not far off these days. Have Fun welcome to Ubuntu!
    Last edited by natman; September 5th, 2008 at 02:50 PM. Reason: mistake
    Thanks:
    Using a Toshiba A300-21H ,3GB ram,Intel Core2Duo 2Ghz,Mobile Intel® GMA 4500MHD,intel wifi link 5100. Tux wants you!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Puebla, México
    Beans
    333
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    Try
    Code:
    uname -m
    Also most times you can install 32 bits without problems

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chennai , INDIA
    Beans
    729
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    32 bit software can be installed in 64 bit.
    what is beautiful is not always good, but what is good is always beautiful!
    When I'm right no one remembers..When I'm wrong no one forgets..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    13

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    Yeah, I got it! Thank you guys! o/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    City of Pines
    Beans
    3,585

    Re: 32 or 64 bits?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryadt View Post
    Type in terminal
    Code:
    uname -m
    i686 - 32bits
    x_64 - 64bits
    That should be:

    x86_64 for the 64-bit
    Steady movement is more important than speed, much of the time. So long as there is a regular progression of Stimuli to get your mental hooks into, there is room for lateral movement. Once this begins, its rate is a matter of discretion.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •