Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Forget password samba share

Beans

Forget password samba share

Hi, I have a samba share in ubuntu which when i first connected, I checked the box, "remember forever" so ubuntu stores the password somewhere.

Is there any way I can make ubuntu remove the saved password?

Thanks

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Re: Forget password samba share

yes, in the command line (terminal), type the following:

Code:
    sudo smbpasswd -x username
    for more information, check the manual page for smbpasswd in the terminal by typing:

man smbpasswd

hope this helps,
    -myk
    "Despite millions of dollars of research, Death continues to be Americas number one killer."

Kingdom Computer Solutions

Beans

It gives the error:
    Failed to modify password entry for user eggy

Is there a way to view a list of users with stored passwords?

Beans

I am having this exact problem too... Anyone have any solution?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Little clarification please on what your situation is.

1) Your Ubuntu system has the samba share and you want the other computer to stop connecting to it with the old password
    In this case you should be able to use "sudo smbpasswd <username that was stored on other computer>" that will change the password and make it so the computer isn't able to connect anymore.

2) Your Ubuntu system is connecting to ANOTHER computer and you have the password saved for that Second computer. And want to remove the password from the keyring.
    I'm not exactly sure what to do in this case.

3) Some situation i didn't list.
    Last edited by papenpj; June 29th, 2009 at 07:21 AM.
    Pentium III 600MHz, 128Mb RAM running Ubuntu 8.04 Server / Dell Inspirion 6000 1.86GHz, 1GB RAM running Ubuntu 8.04 Desktop} + Windows XP + Slackware + Thinking about adding windows 98

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by papenpj View Post
    Little clarification please on what your situation is.