Thread: Dynamic Hosts file?

Beans

Dynamic Hosts file?

Hello,

[I apologize if this is posted elsewhere -- I searched, but saw nothing matching my issue.]

My problem is this:

I have my own domain and my own mail server, which both work fine, and for which I have edited my Hosts file to accommodate "friendly" URLs for each. That being said, I just got a new laptop for school, and (obviously) my Hosts file entries are invalid when I am on campus, or in any Hotspot other than my own network at home.

I tried writing a shell script to edit the Hosts file for this particular line, but a) I'm new to Linux of all flavors, and b) scripts are understandably restricted from running as root (unless wrapped).

Does anyone have a reasonably simple solution, which will allow me to dynamically edit my Hosts file based on my IP address (or act as a switch regardless of my IP address)? I managed to write a batch file in Windows Vista which functions quite well (and is a testament to how easily malicious code could gain access to the Hosts file, really), but my Linux knowledge is weak and pitiful, so I defer to the experience and wisdom in this forum.

Thanks in advance,

--
    Stan

Beans

Re: Dynamic Hosts file?

<bump>

Nobody? Somebody? Please?

--
    Stan

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

Hi! I've created a program just to fix this. The thread I originally posted it in is here .
    To use it, first install libgtk2-perl by finding it in synaptic or typing the following in a terminal:
    PHP Code:
    sudo apt-get install libgtk2-perl 
    Following that, copy my program into a text file on your hard drive, preferably calling it something that ends in a .pl. Make sure you make it executable (This can be done by right-clicking and going to properties)
    My program:
    PHP Code:
    &#65279;
    #copy after this line... those numbers shouldn't be here. Glitch with ubuntuforums, I guess

#!/usr/bin/perl
    # by Adam
    use warnings;
    use