Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    7

    Unhappy Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

    Ok, now that I have my other hard disks working now, now I have another problem, how do I open up WINE so I can open up Windows Programs or something? Or is there a way so that when I open the .exe of the program WINE steps in and Emulates Windows (like its suppose to).

    Also, I would like to konw how you mount iso'sm Ive tried the command
    Code:
    mount -o loop -t iso9660 file.iso /mnt/test
    but when ever I set it to where my iso is it says that it cant find it

    no such file or directory or something like that, if theres a Program Out there that can mount isos like Daemon Tools or Alcohol 120% (or 52%) then plz tell me and link. I rlly wanna play my games!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Beans
    24

    Re: Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

    The command you mention should work. Make sure to run it as root (sudo). Can you post the output of the command?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Beans
    77
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

    1- To use wine just double-click your program (like in windows), this should work..

    2- I use this program to mount iso's:

    sudo apt-get install gmountiso

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

    When mounting ISOs, make sure the mount point exists. The mount point is the folder/directory at which the ISO can be accessed. In your command, the directory "/mnt/test" should exist prior to running that command. Which means, you'll have to do this:

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /mnt/test
    mount -t iso9660 <iso file> /mnt/test -o loop
    Good day.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

    I just posted a answer that may help you in an other thread.
    I'll repost it here:


    Hey,

    I had a similar problem recently, which was solved the following way. Let's hope it will work for you too:

    Wine manages a directory $HOME/.wine/dosdevices where symbolic links for mapping Windows-drives to locations in your filesystem are held. Just enter the directory in a terminal and examine it yourself (ls -l command).

    There are links that have one colon (e.g. E which are refering to the mapping directory in your filesystem, and there drive-letters followed by two colons, which are used to point to a actual physical device (e.g. D: -> /dev/cdrom).
    So I not only tried to loop-mount my iso and bind it to drive E:, but also to bind the "physical drive" E:: to the iso itself, so that the windows software may find the cd's serial and stuff. And guess what, it worked at least for me

    Code:
    $ sudo mount -o loop /home/viktor/image.iso /mnt/iso
    $ cd $HOME/.wine/dosdevices
    $ ln -s /mnt/iso e:
    $ ln -s /home/viktor/image.iso e::
    $ wine explorer
    unfortunately I somehow couldn't start the software with
    Code:
    wine /mnt/iso/setup.exe
    I had' to use wine explorer, navigate to drive E: and start setup.exe by double-clicking it.

    good luck.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    /us/al/home/mb_webguy
    Beans
    2,340
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

    In reference to the mount command... The command you posted should work assuming the mount point (/mnt/test) exists and you are in the directory in which the iso file is located. A better option would be to use the full path of the iso file, as in the following command.
    Code:
    mount -o loop -t iso9660 /path/to/file.iso /mnt/test
    Of course, "/path/to/" should be replaced with the actual path to the file.

    However, I second the suggestion of gmount-iso. It simplifies the process greatly.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Location, Location!
    Beans
    1,571
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Using WINE and Mounting ISO's

    I always use

    cd /media/cdrom0
    user@ubuntu:/media/cdrom0$ wine setup.exe (or whatever)
    Also, I believe the command "wine eject" comes in handy when switching media.

    Of course this is if the cd is in the drive and not an iso file
    A computer allows you to make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •