Thread: Use my website

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Use my website

Hi everyone, I have recently installed ubuntu server 8.04 on an old computer I got my hands on. I had the idea that I would use it to host a simple (almost) website. So I had LAMP (and all other options except mail server) installed when I installed ubuntu server, and then installed xubuntu-desktop for any gui needs. So all of that is installed.

So I put my php site into /var/www and went to localhost with firefox, and that worked. I typed the internal ip of the server from another computer on the network, and that worked. But since I am really new to this I have no idea how to access the website from any other computer on the internet.

What do I do?
    First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Use my website

If you type (at the server command line):
    Code:
    ifconfig
    You will see the ISP's provided IP address used for your connection.
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:bf:59:e6:98  
              inet addr:xx.xx.xx.xxx  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.248.0
              inet6 addr: xxxx::xxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx/xx Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:345872509 errors:3 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:4
              TX packets:25665342 errors:1 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:966586655 (921.8 MB)  TX bytes:3424306845 (3.1 GB)
              Interrupt:16 Base address:0xc000
    Just type that address into your browser.

Update::.
    This is if you are using your server as a gateway/router. You should have a NIC contected to your ISP provided modem and a NIC for your intrenet.
    Last edited by cdtech; September 1st, 2008 at 11:58 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate

Quote Originally Posted by talsemgeest View Post