Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] Driver BCM4318 wireless internet

Beans

[SOLVED] Driver BCM4318 wireless internet

Hello,

I am completely new to the linux system. I installed ubuntu a couple days ago on my computer and I thought with some internettutorials I should be able to find my way somehow. But there started my first problem and al the other problems so far are caused by this first problem.

My computer had (when it driverd on windows xp) a wireless connection with my router. I am not able to go wired due some problems (called parrents). So I do need the wireless thing. But ubuntu can't connect to my router somehow. I tryed to type the details in myself to connect to it but it just doesn't work. It ask's me everytime again for the wepkey. Then I type it in again and it searches and then it askes again for the key.

So I thought maybe the thing needs a driver. So I searched for drivers and how stupid it may be I found a driver and with some help of a friend I actually installed it and then I found out it was for my lan card and not for my wlan card. So I searched again.

And there starts the big problem. I found out that my wlan card is a BCM4318 and I found out that there are only windows drivers. Or I just can't find the linux version but I read on some fora that there aren't linux drivers. Now I searched further and I found out there is this program for linux called ndiswrapper. With this program installed I should be able to install a windows driver on my linux system and then hopefully my wireless internet works.

But I don't have a clue how to install it. I did found a version on the internet of ndiswrapper but I got some errors like can't leave the directory after the installation and then the complete installation quits and nothing is installed (I did this installation by the readme file).