Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Cannot mount volume

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    406

    Cannot mount volume

    cannot mount volume
    unable to mount new volume

    When I plug my external hard drive in

    How can I fix this?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    406

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    PLEASE
    Somone must have come up with this before!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    near Sunderland, UK
    Beans
    60
    Distro
    Xubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    Quote Originally Posted by Colo2 View Post
    cannot mount volume
    unable to mount new volume

    When I plug my external hard drive in

    How can I fix this?
    Try opening a terminal window and typing (or copy/paste)
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r ehci_hcd
    Works for me, so good luck! You might have to do this every time you want to mount the hard drive, or you might not... Sometimes my hard drive etc mount automatically, sometimes they don't
    LizBeth

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    36

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    Hey, i'm colos brother, my computer is the one that is having this problem

    And thanks for the tip, but no such luck.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    36

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    no one has had this problem before? D:

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Beverley, UK
    Beans
    733
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    Open the Terminal, and type:

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    The disks and partitions will be listed. Find the device code for the external HDD (it will be /dev/sdaN or /dev/hdaN, where N represents a number).

    Now, type:

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/files
    If you wish, you can replace "files" with something else.

    Now, type:

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/[device] /media/files
    This will mount the drive.

    If it does not work, you could try force- mounting the drive.

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/[device] /media/files -o force
    Everything that has a Beginning, has an End

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Earth
    Beans
    273
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    Maybe you could post your fstab and mtab, That might be the problem. Also, we need more information to help you. Pelease answer these questions

    1. What is the brand and type of the external harddisk?
    2. Have you checked wether it works on other computers?
    3. How is the hd connected. By USB or firewire?
    4. What computer are you using?
    5. Which version of Ubuntu (or whatever else) are you running?
    Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.40Ghz | ASRock Z77 Extreme4 | Sapphire Radeon HD 7800 | HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH10LS38 ATA Device | OCZ Agility 3 SATA III SSD 60GB (ntfs [win7 boot], ntfs [win7], ext4 [linux]) + 2x Seagate Barracuda 500GB (RAID0, ntfs [data])

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Serbia - Belgrade
    Beans
    30
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    Quote Originally Posted by WRDN View Post
    Open the Terminal, and type:

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    The disks and partitions will be listed. Find the device code for the external HDD (it will be /dev/sdaN or /dev/hdaN, where N represents a number).

    Now, type:

    Code:
    sudo mkdir /media/files
    If you wish, you can replace "files" with something else.

    Now, type:

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/[device] /media/files
    This will mount the drive.

    If it does not work, you could try force- mounting the drive.

    Code:
    sudo mount /dev/[device] /media/files -o force

    The upper-mentioned way is to mount it for only that session, after you restart computer, you will need to mount it again.

    If you want to mount it permanently :

    In terminal type:

    sudo gedit /etc/fstab

    then fstab file (file system table) will open and ready for editing.

    add

    /dev/sdb1 /media/storage ntfs user,exec 0 0

    Mine external hdd was on /dev/sdb1 it can be other for you, likr folder i was mounting it to /media/storage .

    Wish you all the best
    Toshiba Tecra A8

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    406

    Re: Cannot mount volume

    thanks all for the help all we had to do was plug it in to windows and safely remove hardware

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •