Thread: [SOLVED] Installing Broadcom firmware

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Question [SOLVED] Installing Broadcom firmware

OK I have finally been able to down load this firmware and it appears to be in this dir - '/b43-fwcutter-011$'. Now I tried to follow the install directions on this link http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43, however everything I try gives me error messages

Does anyone have a step by step procedure to get this firmware installed? Please no linux geek speak - I'm new to linux and maybe that's why I'm having trouble deciphering the above link. For example this line of code:

Code:
    sudo ./bcm43xx-fwcutter-006/bcm43xx-fwcutter -w "$FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR"
    makes on sense to me and gives me an error message. It is accompanied by the following:

Note that you must adjust the FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR path to your
    distribution. The standard place where firmware is installed to is
    /lib/firmware. However some distributions put firmware in a different
    place.

OK, where does Mythbuntu store firmware and do I need to execute this code. If I do how should this code look when adjusted for the correct path?
    Very new to Linux:

Dedicated to learning Ubuntu and getting Mythbuntu up and running.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Installing Broadcom firmware

Quote Originally Posted by dmdbdd View Post
    OK I have finally been able to down load this firmware and it appears to be in this dir - '/b43-fwcutter-011$'. Now I tried to follow the install directions on this link http://linuxwireless.org/en/users/Drivers/b43, however everything I try gives me error messages

Does anyone have a step by step procedure to get this firmware installed? Please no linux geek speak - I'm new to linux and maybe that's why I'm having trouble deciphering the above link. For example this line of code:

Code:
    sudo ./bcm43xx-fwcutter-006/bcm43xx-fwcutter -w "$FIRMWARE_INSTALL_DIR"