Re: What happens if...
1/3 - Generally this is not a problem. When you uninstall packages some do get left behind though. There are a couple things you can do. One that comes to mind is running
Understand that if you uninstall apps in synaptic that their configuration files are often left behind. This is done because you might decide to reinstall the app. Select "completely" remove in Synaptic to get rid of configurations files as well when you uninstall an app.
sudo apt-get autoremove
2 - If you format / (root) you will not harm the configuration for most your apps. But, yeah you will have to reinstall the apps again. Up side is that once you install the apps, it will seem like you never reinstalled, cause the apps will be configured just as they were before you reinstalled.
Last edited by mevets; August 23rd, 2008 at 04:43 AM.
Registered Linux user number 438485.
Machine registration number 344277.
Ubuntu User number 10798.