Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: web design question.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    web design question.

    Hi I just created my website the buttons and logo ect.

    I just notice on ie7 and firefox that it looks great Then I notice on ie6 that it would show where it's supposed to be apha like nothing I would see with.

    I was woundering how can you get around that??? I used for the logo nothing but test and the rest around it is really nothing like it's no value not black or transparent but it's like aplha transparent. It is done in a way where you supposed to just see the text. So when I saw it on ie6 I see white around all the text, then in ie7 I see the area transparent and dosen't show only shows text and where the white was for ie6 I can see in ie7 that it would show the website background no white.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    646

    Re: web design question.

    Test it in Firefox/opera/konquror (sp?) to see if it ok.
    IE is know for not following the rules for webdesign.
    If you can get in correct in ff/O/KO then its correct, then you can move onto workingout what exactly IE is not doing to the site.
    Come here http://www.design.ersblock.com/forum/and ask as it a dedicated web design site.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Beans
    3,438
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: web design question.

    Quote Originally Posted by hockey97 View Post
    Hi I just created my website the buttons and logo ect.

    I just notice on ie7 and firefox that it looks great Then I notice on ie6 that it would show where it's supposed to be apha like nothing I would see with.

    I was woundering how can you get around that??? I used for the logo nothing but test and the rest around it is really nothing like it's no value not black or transparent but it's like aplha transparent. It is done in a way where you supposed to just see the text. So when I saw it on ie6 I see white around all the text, then in ie7 I see the area transparent and dosen't show only shows text and where the white was for ie6 I can see in ie7 that it would show the website background no white.
    IE6 does not support PNG alpha transparency.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    1,775
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: web design question.

    Check this out:

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,1645331,00.asp

    Let me know how it works out. I have no way currently to check sites with IE6.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: web design question.

    Ok, yes when I tried it in firefox it works great and also ie7 it works great.

    it's just ie6 that it would make the transparent areas white and looks very ulgy.

    Well if I can't fix this problem, I am just going to make a java script and make a pop up window for ie6 users saying that you would need ie7 because Microsoft made a boo boo lol.

    I will take a look at the links above thanks, I am really getting frustrated making my website I got this and also a display resolution problem.

    I hope microsoft and other browsers make a plug-in or a new browser to be able to resize a website page to scale according to the clients resolution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: web design question.

    ok thanks it works now.


    here is the code I have just in case anyone here gets into the same problem:

    Code:
    jQuery.fn.cssPNGFix = function(sizingMethod) {
      var sizingMethod = (sizingMethod) || 'scale';
      if($.browser.msie && parseInt($.browser.version) < 7) {
        $(this).each(function() {
          var css_bg_img = $(this).css('background-image');
          var bg_img = css_bg_img.substring(5, css_bg_img.length - 2);
          $(this).css({'background':'none', 'filter':'progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader(src="' + bg_img + '", sizingMethod="' + sizingMethod + '")'});
        });
      };
      return $(this);
    };
    
    jQuery.fn.imgPNGFix = function(sizingMethod) {
      var sizingMethod = (sizingMethod) || 'scale';
      if($.browser.msie && parseInt($.browser.version) < 7) {
        $(this).each(function() {
          var spacer_src = Drupal.settings.spacer_src;
          var the_img = $(this);
          var src = $(this).attr('src');
          $(the_img).attr('src', spacer_src);
          $(the_img).css({
            'background':'none',
            'filter':'progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader(src="' + src + '", sizingMethod="' + sizingMethod + '")'
          });
        });
      };
      return $(this);
    };
    
    $(function() {
      if($.browser.msie && parseInt($.browser.version) < 7) {
        $('.png_bg').each(function() {
          var css_bg_img = $(this).css('background-image');
          var bg_img = css_bg_img.substring(5, css_bg_img.length - 2);
          $(this).css({'background':'none', 'filter':'progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader(src="' + bg_img + '", sizingMethod="image")'});
        });
        $('.png_img').imgPNGFix('image');
      };
    });

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Beans
    646

    Re: web design question.

    What one off these?
    Best viewed in FF3.0 & IE7 because MS made a boo boo.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    1,775
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: web design question.

    Quote Originally Posted by hockey97 View Post
    Ok, yes when I tried it in firefox it works great and also ie7 it works great.

    it's just ie6 that it would make the transparent areas white and looks very ulgy.

    Well if I can't fix this problem, I am just going to make a java script and make a pop up window for ie6 users saying that you would need ie7 because Microsoft made a boo boo lol.

    I will take a look at the links above thanks, I am really getting frustrated making my website I got this and also a display resolution problem.

    I hope microsoft and other browsers make a plug-in or a new browser to be able to resize a website page to scale according to the clients resolution.
    Did you look at the link I posted? It is a <div> that makes png's work in IE5.5 and IE6. If it works, you do not have to use JavaScript.

    <DIV ID="oDiv" STYLE="position:absolute; left:140px; height:400; width:400;

    filterrogidXImageTransform.

    Microsoft.AlphaImageLoader (src='image.png', sizing

    Method='scale');" >

    </DIV>

    -edit-

    Well, I guess you will have to look at the article, as the forum makes some of the code smile lol

    Last edited by lyceum; August 23rd, 2008 at 03:30 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    NYC
    Beans
    2,179
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: web design question.

    In general it would be helpful if you had it uploaded so we could see what is going on, unless you have and I missed it. Perhaps you could use a gif instead of png?

    Quote Originally Posted by hockey97 View Post
    Well if I can't fix this problem, I am just going to make a java script and make a pop up window for ie6 users saying that you would need ie7 because Microsoft made a boo boo
    That will only make IE6 users just not go to your site at all. A person would sooner close the window and not visit your site again rather than upgrade their browser. What about those running Windows 2000 and earlier that can't upgrade to IE7? Or the thousands of people in a business environment that don't have the administrative rights to upgrade to IE7? Forcing someone to change their browser, as opposed to a graceful degradation of the site, doesn't make you seem professional, but I don't even know what your website is advertising anyway.

    Quote Originally Posted by hockey97 View Post
    I hope microsoft and other browsers make a plug-in or a new browser to be able to resize a website page to scale according to the clients resolution.
    That's called doing a liquid layout, which I've mentioned to you before and you refused to learn.

    Even if something like javascript reads the client's resolution, it doesn't take into account the size of the actual browser window (for example if it isn't maximized)
    If the only reason you think your software is better is because it's FOSS, you need to write better software

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •