Thread: [SOLVED] Compiling & installing 'radeonhd' driver on Feisty

Hybrid View

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

[SOLVED] Compiling & installing 'radeonhd' driver on Feisty

13-Aug-2008
    22-Aug-2008 Gutsy; working well at my desired resolution.]

This document details my failed attempt to get the open-source 'radeonhd' video driver to work on a Kubuntu 7.04 'Feisty' linux system, and my success with it on Kubuntu 7.10 'Gutsy' after a distro upgrade.

[I couldn't get it to work on Kubuntu 7.04 Feisty, and it's not clear to me that it can, at the moment. I think only the developers of radeonhd could make this happen.]

Hardware:
    Graphics card: Asus EAH3450 (RV620 chipset) (purchased new 21-Jul-2008)
    Motherboard: Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe (purchased new 21-Jul-2008)

OS: Kubuntu 7.04 Feisty 32-bit desktop, linux kernel 2.6.20-16-lowlatency

Background:

I am fairly new to linux (< 2 years) and don't have much experience compiling stuff on it. This is my first attempt at compiling and installing a video driver.

What's happened is my old motherboard with 32bit cpu became unreliable, so I bought a new motherboard, cpu, ram, gfx card, and replaced the old ones with them.
    I wanted to keep my existing Kubuntu 7.04 installation as it is.
    (I've gone to a lot of effort to install and configure software on this base, and I don't enjoy the idea of possible mass breakage by doing a distro upgrade.)
    So Kubuntu 7.04 booted up one day recently and found itself with new hardware.
    A little bit too new. The splash screen showed its progress bar, but at the end the screen went blank except for a non-responsive flashing cursor. I could switch to virtual terminals for console work, but X refused to start.

After some investigation, I determined that my card wasn't supported by the older 'radeon' driver which comes with Kubuntu 7.04. What I need is the newer 'radeonhd' driver, which is being actively developed from day to day at the moment.