Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Alert

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

Newbie Alert

Hi...

I'm VERY new to the whole of the Linux lark and I'm hoping to pick up some tips and tricks from you all.

I'm very impressed at the mo with Hardy Heron 8.04 (I've only had it installed an hour, though!)

So please be gentle with me and if I ask any stupid questions, I apologise in advance!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Newbie Alert

Welcome to Ubuntu.
    I used to have a handle on life, but it snapped off.
    Ubuntu user number # 12234

Beans

Quote Originally Posted by Grez View Post
    Hi...

I'm VERY new to the whole of the Linux lark and I'm hoping to pick up some tips and tricks from you all.

I'm very impressed at the mo with Hardy Heron 8.04 (I've only had it installed an hour, though!)

So please be gentle with me and if I ask any stupid questions, I apologise in advance!
    Don't be ashamed, we all were (or are still) new to Linux at one point, so we know it can feel strange at first. Just ask when you have trouble, don't be afraid to.
    See my themes here! | Dont preach Linux, mention it | Make GNOME Themes
    I'm no longer on here. If you want to talk to me, go to noost.org.
    My DeviantArt | Linux user #461096 | Ubuntu user #15753

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Quote Originally Posted by smartboyathome View Post
    Don't be ashamed, we all were (or are still) new to Linux at one point, so we know it can feel strange at first. Just ask when you have trouble, don't be afraid to.
    I was a guru from birth.
    Posting code? Use the [code] or [php] tags.
    I don't care, I'm still free. You can't take the sky from me.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Hmm. Considering you just joined a year ago, I would hold off on guruship.

(I know this isn't the only linux forum out there, but from my experience it is the most active)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx