Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: [SOLVED] Dunno how to autoload driver at boot

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    235
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    [SOLVED] Dunno how to autoload driver at boot

    I have to reload the driver at every reboot. It's annoying.
    I've tried following these instructions but nothing happens after a reboot.

    Code:
    MORE INFORMATION
    =================================================================================
    If you want for rt2870 driver to auto-load at boot time:
    A) choose ra0 for first RT2870 WLAN card, ra1 for second RT2870 WLAN card, etc.
       
    B) create(edit) 'ifcfg-ra0' file in /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/,      
       edit( or add the line) in /etc/modules.conf:
           alias ra0 rt2870sta
       
    C) edit(create) the file /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-ra0  
       DEVICE='ra0'
       ONBOOT='yes'     
    
    
    NOTE:
       if you use dhcp, add this line too .
        BOOTPROTO='dhcp'
    
    *D) To ease the Default Gateway setting, 
        add the line
        GATEWAY=x.x.x.x   
        in /etc/sysconfig/network
    =======================================================================

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Beans
    1,578
    Distro
    Xubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Dunno how to autoload driver at boot

    If you know the specific name of the driver, you can autoload it by adding it to the "/etc/modules" file.
    Registered Linux User #446796
    Registered Ubuntu User #13489

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    235
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Dunno how to autoload driver at boot

    Quote Originally Posted by Cypher View Post
    If you know the specific name of the driver, you can autoload it by adding it to the "/etc/modules" file.
    Code:
    # /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time.
    #
    # This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded
    # at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored.
    
    loop
    lp
    fuse
    rt2870sta
    Most likely it's rt2870sta as/but that's already in the "/etc/modules" file, so is there a way to find out why this is not working and how it can be fixed?
    Last edited by _sluimers_; August 16th, 2008 at 04:13 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    513

    Re: Dunno how to autoload driver at boot

    You could do the easy (maybe not the "correct") way, and add the commands you use to set up the driver in /etc/rc.local
    Donation links
    Free hardware
    Petition for free drivers
    If every forum member donated $1 to FSF, they would almost double their income

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •