Thread: Samba share - windows can't rename file

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Samba share - windows can't rename file

Ok so first off, I'm fairly new to Linux in general, so if I'm doing something totally retarded just tell me and let me know what I should be doing instead.

I have a partition on my linux pc created specifically for sharing media between Ubuntu and my Windows VM. I've created a samba share for it, and I am able to see it in windows: I can browse/rename/add/delete files without any issues. However, some apps (Zune..ahem) try to rename files, it fails.

So while downloading a song Zune creates a file called ZuneXX.tmp. Once it's complete it tries to rename the file to the correct mp3. Here's what FileMon gives me in WinXP:

2:39:58 PM Zune.exe:3272 SET INFORMATION Z:\My Music\Zune\Subscription\Okkervil River\Black Sheep Boy (Bonus Tracks)\Zun25.tmp ACCESS DENIED FileBasicInformation
    Here's the share from /etc/samba/smb.conf:
    Code:
    [MediaShare]
    path = /media/share
    available = yes
    browsable = yes
    public = yes
    writable = yes
    create mask = 0775
    directory mask = 0775
    I set the masks just a moment ago to no avail hoping that might work. Anyone know what the heck I should be doing here? Thanks in advance.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Samba share - windows can't rename file

Did you restart Samba after changing smb.conf?
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Quote Originally Posted by Iowan View Post
    Did you restart Samba after changing smb.conf?
    I knew someone was going to ask that...

I think so... I ran:
    sudo /etc/init.d/samba restart.

Also, shortly after making this post I ended up having to kill -9 nmbd, and restart it again because it was taking up 100% of one of my cores. No idea why that happened.