Thread: Uninstall vmware workstation failed RPM install

Beans

Uninstall vmware workstation failed RPM install

I installed vmware workstation trial unsuccessfully, I thought I had removed it so I removed all the old installation files now I am trying to install vmware server via synaptic package manager, but to no avail. I have removed every reference to vmware in the package manager but I believe some files are still staying around and blocking me from installing vmware server. Here are a couple screen shots of the errors I am getting. I have tried both adding the vm repo and using package manager and using the tar ball from the vmware website and followed the online guides to installing each respectively but I get errors. The problem is related to the previous installation of vm workstation. As I am a noob I don't know where to even look for the scraps workstation has left.

I am running 64 bit hardy.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Uninstall vmware workstation failed RPM install

Is this because the kernel needed is 2.6.22 and hardy uses 2.6.24? I have no knowledge of vmware but that does seem a possible reason to me. Also, how did you install the rpm version in the first place? Ubuntu used .deb packages not rpm, unless you use alien to perform the rpm conversion/installation.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

You can try virtualbox which is a great alternative to vmware and it is in the repos.
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install virtualbox-ose
    or you can download and install the one on their website, which is better. Try this tutorial http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ght=virtualbox
    Be Safe. Use Linux.
    Double your drive space. Delete Windows.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

As I am a noob I don't know where to even look for the scraps workstation has left.