Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [SOLVED] Network failure

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    23

    [SOLVED] Network failure

    hi, after comfatbly running my dule boot desktop for what seems too long iv oncde again come accross yet more network problems.

    The problem that im now left with is that none of the network cards in my machine is giving me an internet connection, on OS.

    i currently have an onbord via vt6102 [rhine-II] (rev 78) and a Realtek RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10) card


    as i said - both resuse to connect to the tinterweb.

    the network cable ect is all perfectly fine and dandy, and abel to conenct other devices using same cable, jsut not my desktop, on any of the two cards above


    any one any idears on how i can try an get any of the two cards working. they bother show up, both lite up ect and connect via network manager - just no internet or network via them



    thanks guys n galls

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    23

    Re: Network failure

    Still stuggling to find any solutions.

    been trawling though forums for any simmler situiations but crnt find anything


    tried everything i can posabbily think of n starting to run out of solutions.

    please somone sujest something - any little idears welcome on how to get my network cards working. they have previous worked perfectly. just not any more

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Not heaven... Iowa
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Network failure

    Post results of ifconfig and contents of /etc/network/interfaces. If there is another machine on the network, can you ping this machine (via IP address from ifconfig))?
    Linux User #415691 Ubuntu User #8629
    Iowa Team (LoCo): [Wiki] [Launchpad]
    IRC channel: #ubuntu-us-ia on irc.freenode.net

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    23

    Re: Network failure

    sertinatly. iv been looking tohugh them all day and not come up with anthything

    ifconfig:

    mat@mat-desktop:~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:c0:df:11:5a:c7
    inet addr:192.168.1.103 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::2c0:dfff:fe11:5ac7/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:31909 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5109 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:3012401 (2.8 MB) TX bytes:472611 (461.5 KB)
    Interrupt:16 Base address:0xe000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:09:eb:a9:e3
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:3031 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:303 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:270582 (264.2 KB) TX bytes:24517 (23.9 KB)
    Interrupt:19 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:1121 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1121 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:60492 (59.0 KB) TX bytes:60492 (59.0 KB)

    contence of /etc/network/interfaces:

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback





    as a note im currently concentrating my efforts on the realteck nic, witch displays as eth0
    thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Network failure

    You currently have a connection to your router as evidenced by the output of ifconfig for eth0. Could it be that your router is blocking the connection?

    Jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    23

    Re: Network failure

    My god i love you (but not in that way, thats just wrong :S)


    lol, never thaught bout that. god i realy am a tard.

    tralled through the wilderness that is our celler to reboot the rooter. thing work like a charm. wooo


    thanks once more dood.

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •