Thread: Laptop and External Monitor

Hybrid View

Beans

Laptop and External Monitor

Hi there,

I recently put Ubuntu onto my laptop and it works great. Im really loving it over vista

My laptop has a 15.4 inch screen and i wanted to test my 22 inch external monitor on ubuntu.
    However when i plug it in, the resolution dosen't update and it stays at the 15.4inch resolution. When i go to resolution settings, i can't make it any bigger from there either.

So im a bit stuck. I would really like to use my 22inch but im just not sure how to make it work :S

If anyone could help, then i would appreciate it greatly. Also im still new to Ubuntu so if anyone awnsers then can it be in simple english >_< i probably won't understand if its all complicated.

Thanks in advance...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Laptop and External Monitor

What is your system configuration- what graphics adapter
    are you using?
    What method are you currently using for dual display?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Quote Originally Posted by Rainagul View Post
    Hi there,

I recently put Ubuntu onto my laptop and it works great. Im really loving it over vista

My laptop has a 15.4 inch screen and i wanted to test my 22 inch external monitor on ubuntu.
    However when i plug it in, the resolution dosen't update and it stays at the 15.4inch resolution. When i go to resolution settings, i can't make it any bigger from there either.

So im a bit stuck. I would really like to use my 22inch but im just not sure how to make it work :S

If anyone could help, then i would appreciate it greatly. Also im still new to Ubuntu so if anyone awnsers then can it be in simple english >_< i probably won't understand if its all complicated.

Thanks in advance...
    Hi and welcome, You can use the command
    Code:
    lspci