Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: hd0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    hd0

    Does anyone know how to find out what x is in (hd0, x)??

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chennai , INDIA
    Beans
    729
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: hd0

    it is mostly 2 or 5
    what is beautiful is not always good, but what is good is always beautiful!
    When I'm right no one remembers..When I'm wrong no one forgets..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    258

    Re: hd0

    What are you trying to do? Are you using grub and trying to dual boot, or are tying to do something else? Just looking for information or is the part of some configuration, and if so, what application?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: hd0

    Quote Originally Posted by Mister.Vash View Post
    What are you trying to do? Are you using grub and trying to dual boot, or are tying to do something else? Just looking for information or is the part of some configuration, and if so, what application?
    Yes I'm trying to use grub to dual boot, the partition is sda1.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Beans
    74
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: hd0

    I guess you are talking about grub. In that case the 'x' is the partition number.
    Get more info in the grub documentation.

    http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Chennai , INDIA
    Beans
    729
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: hd0

    then it should (hd0, 0)
    what is beautiful is not always good, but what is good is always beautiful!
    When I'm right no one remembers..When I'm wrong no one forgets..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Beans
    7,419
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: hd0

    if it's sda1 you're trying to boot, then you want (hd0,0)

    *grub starts counting from 0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: hd0

    grub should be installed in the first section of your first hard drive, your MBR. I dont think it has to be, but it will ensure a nice dual boot if ur running windows aswell.

    but your labels should be as follows

    sda=hd0
    sda1=hd0,0
    sda2=hd0,1
    etc..
    Last edited by kajillin; August 8th, 2008 at 07:03 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •