Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Network is not responding

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    ~/PA/USA
    Beans
    1,983
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Network is not responding

    The file "/etc/resolv.conf" should have the nameservers listed from your ISP. Mine looks like this:
    Code:
    search hsd1.xx.xxxxxx.xxx.
    nameserver xx.xx.xx.xxx
    nameserver xx.xx.xx.xxx
    nameserver xx.xx.xx.xxx
    It's not windows where it is automatically setup for you through dhcp.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Network is not responding

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:23:46:dd:e3
    inet addr:203.76.125.82 Bcast:203.76.125.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::204:23ff:fe46:dde3/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:192 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:37 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:12712 (12.4 KB) TX bytes:4012 (3.9KB)
    Base address:0x7000 Memory:f0200000-f0220000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:23:46:e0:db
    inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::204:23ff:fe46:e0db/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:8611 (8.4 KB) TX bytes:3212 (3.1KB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Link
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:200 (200 B) TX bytes:200 (200 B)

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Network is not responding

    do i have to edit /etc/hosts?if so,what i have to insert and update?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, Arizona USA
    Beans
    2,909
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Network is not responding

    Quote Originally Posted by anindya23 View Post
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:23:46:dd:e3
    inet addr:203.76.125.82 Bcast:203.76.125.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::204:23ff:fe46:dde3/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:192 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:37 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
    RX bytes:12712 (12.4 KB) TX bytes:4012 (3.9KB)
    Base address:0x7000 Memory:f0200000-f0220000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:23:46:e0:db
    inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::204:23ff:fe46:e0db/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:8611 (8.4 KB) TX bytes:3212 (3.1KB)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Link
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:200 (200 B) TX bytes:200 (200 B)
    OK, wanted to make sure your interfaces were UP. What do you have the gateway set for on eth1? What is the internal address of your router?

    -Tim
    www.pcchopshop.net

    Hard to find and obsolete PC and server parts. "If we can't find it, it probably doesn't exist"

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Network is not responding

    Gateway set for eth1 203.76.125.81.
    i cant understand the internal address of router.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Aotearoa
    Beans
    192
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Network is not responding

    Unless your machine is on an ISP's network it is quite unlikely you'll have a public IP for your machine. Generally you'll need to have the IP address set to the same network as the router (gateway) for your network.

    Maybe you could explain your network topology a bit better for us to help you - like describe the devices each network card is connected to...
    "Oh, you think you're doing some damage?! 2+2 is… 10… in base four, I'm fine!" - GLaDOS
    The House of LAN

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •