Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 83

Thread: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Beans
    21

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    Quote Originally Posted by javiwwweb
    Let me start with a little background info. I manage a computer lab with 85 workstations. I ocassionally use either RDP or VNC to do some maintenance. I have no problem doing this from windows, but I wanted my lonely Ubuntu workstation to be able to do the same thing. After about a week of research I am finally able to ping my windows workstations via their Netbios names. Woohoo!!

    All you have to do is:

    edit /etc/nsswitch.conf

    change the line that says



    to this:



    finally, you need to install winbind

    Code:
    sudo apt-get install winbind
    that's all that it took for me.

    now ping <hostname> works great. And I can finally use the built-in terminal server client with hostnames instead of IP addresses.


    I hope this brief guide can be of help! Thank you all for always providing such great support in these forums!

    You sir are my personal hero. This problem was driving me NUTS! Worked perfectly!

    Travis

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH, USA
    Beans
    145
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    i agree, given that samba sharing is part of the official gnome directory sharing tool now, there's no reason this setup is not the default with ubuntu.

    think of how easy it makes networking a new user's ubuntu install with their existing windows network?

    Thank you again sir, you are a genius.
    "If the real Jesus Christ were to stand up today
    He'd be gunned down cold by the CIA"

    - Armageddon Days are Here Again - The The

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    4

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    Thanks so much for this tip! It should absolutely be in the guide, or added to this wiki: http://easylinux.info/wiki/Ubuntu

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Beans
    174

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    What does Netbios do? dont you get hacked using that? or is that just windows?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    762
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    Quote Originally Posted by ace2005
    What does Netbios do? dont you get hacked using that? or is that just windows?
    By using NETBIOS U no longer have to access your remote computers by only IP numbers which is kinda hard to remember but with their computer name
    Notebook Compaq Evo N610c
    14" LCD, Pentium 4 mobile 1.8GHz * 1GB RAM * 80GB HDD * Radeon mobile 7500 32MB dedicated vRAM.
    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...shrack&t=37766

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Beans
    15

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    doooood! I can go to bed now, this problem was driving my insannnneee! THANKS!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Stockholm
    Beans
    95
    Distro
    Edgy Eft Testing

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    Quote Originally Posted by ashrack
    By using NETBIOS U no longer have to access your remote computers by only IP numbers which is kinda hard to remember but with their computer name
    Yes thats correct but you do it by using the microsoft way of doing it with WINS. A much better solution would be that ubuntu would handle dynamic dns.

    Claes

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Beans
    762
    Distro
    Ubuntu 6.06

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    Quote Originally Posted by claes
    Yes thats correct but you do it by using the microsoft way of doing it with WINS. A much better solution would be that ubuntu would handle dynamic dns.
    Could U be more specific, why would DYN DNS be better?
    Notebook Compaq Evo N610c
    14" LCD, Pentium 4 mobile 1.8GHz * 1GB RAM * 80GB HDD * Radeon mobile 7500 32MB dedicated vRAM.
    http://folding.extremeoverclocking.c...shrack&t=37766

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Beans
    103
    Distro
    Ubuntu Breezy 5.10

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide

    Though in most cases I agree dynamic DNS is a better solution, what about small LAN's that don't have their own DNS servers? Shouldn't need to hardcode IP's and use host files just because your network is small and not worth the expense of your very own DNS server. NetBIOS is a way to accomplish this without extra hardware....

    btw....muchos gracias javiwwweb!!! =D>

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Perth, WA, Australia
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: HOWTO: Resolve Netbios hostname system-wide



    Thumbs up on this HOWTO, will be sure to remember this.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •