Page 12 of 19 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 190

Thread: ath9k

  1. #111
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: ath9k

    Quote Originally Posted by volanin View Post
    Answering requests, I have created a shell script that will
    Warning 2: You don't need this if you are using Intrepid Ibex Alpha. It's already included there!
    Interesting phenomena, because considering "it's already in there" it still fails to work correctly... I am having a problem with it transmitting.


    ASUS M70VM-X1 with the Atheros AR928x chipset and bluetooth

    I am wondering why this isnt working

    uname -a
    Code:
    Linux ubuntu 2.6.27-3-generic #1 SMP Wed Sep 10 16:02:00 UTC 2008 i686 GNU/Linux
    lspci -nn
    Code:
    Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. Device [168c:002a] (rev 01)
    ifconfig
    Code:
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:af:dd:7c:c9  
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-15-AF-DD-7C-C9-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00  
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    iwconfig
    Code:
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    wmaster0  no wireless extensions.
    
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:""  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
              Tx-Power=27 dBm   
              Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B   
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    dmesg |grep wlan0
    Code:
    [   55.857897] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
    dmesg |grep Atheros
    Code:
    [   41.906100] phy0: Atheros 9280: mem=0xf8be0000, irq=17
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  2. #112
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Northfield, IL
    Beans
    88
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

    Re: ath9k

    Quote Originally Posted by Mgiacchetti View Post
    Interesting phenomena, because considering "it's already in there" it still fails to work correctly... I am having a problem with it transmitting.[/code]

    That's interesting you said that too because that was one of the specific reasons I jumped to Intrepid early. The card is detected and shows up on the list, but when I attempt to connect w/ static settings in the latest wicd, it will just sit in the authentication stage and eventually fail (using wext). Using other wpa drivers, it may connect, but will show 0% signal.

    So, once again, I'm back to using a wired connection through a wireless bridge (my print server).


    I would suggest try asking around in the Intrepid forums on this site.
    Ubuntu: IntrepidIbex x32 v8.10-RC (v2.6.27-7 Kernel) / Gnome / C.Fusion / Emerald / Guake / wicd / etc...
    UbuntuUser#: 24216

  3. #113
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: ath9k

    Quote Originally Posted by TDragon View Post
    That's interesting you said that too because that was one of the specific reasons I jumped to Intrepid early. The card is detected and shows up on the list, but when I attempt to connect w/ static settings in the latest wicd, it will just sit in the authentication stage and eventually fail (using wext). Using other wpa drivers, it may connect, but will show 0% signal.

    So, once again, I'm back to using a wired connection through a wireless bridge (my print server).


    I would suggest try asking around in the Intrepid forums on this site.
    Yep that's where I'm at as well... i just threw my post from here in here to try get more exposure, maybe someone will find a fix
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: ath9k

    ****FIXED****
    Thread should be updated in post #3 to show that if you have an ASUS laptop you may need (on a clean install) to do the following in terminal:

    Code:
    sudo su
    enter password
    echo 1 > /sys/devices/platforms/asus-laptop/wlan
    as this file is set to 0 which means that the wlan is off...

    the following files in the same folder can also be edited:
    Code:
    bluetooth  - turns bluetooth on or off
    ls_switch   - turns Light Sensor on or off
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  5. #115
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: ath9k

    I'm having some problems with my Macbook.

    Your script turns up this -


    iwconfig =
    Code:
    brendan@macbook:~/Desktop/rdm$ iwconfig
    lo        no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0      no wireless extensions.
    
    brendan@macbook:~/Desktop/rdm$ ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:17:f2:32:b1:88  
              inet addr:192.168.1.65  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::217:f2ff:fe32:b188/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:20022 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:11850 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:17980882 (17.1 MB)  TX bytes:1509234 (1.4 MB)
              Interrupt:16 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:1892 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:1892 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:94600 (92.3 KB)  TX bytes:94600 (92.3 KB)
    sudo modprobe ath9k
    Code:
    FATAL: Error inserting ath9k (/lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/ath9k/ath9k.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
    uname -a
    Code:
    Linux macbook 2.6.24-19-generic #1 SMP Wed Aug 20 17:53:40 UTC 2008 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    lspci -nm
    Code:
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller [11ab:4362] (rev 22)
    02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5418 802.11abgn Wireless PCI Express Adapter [168c:0024] (rev 01)


    What am I doing wrong?

    This worked once.. is the module already installed just not loading for some reason? I'm lost.
    Last edited by purxaoc; September 27th, 2008 at 06:43 PM.

  6. #116
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    BH, Brazil
    Beans
    338

    Re: ath9k

    Do this:

    Code:
    sudo aptitude remove compat-wireless-ath9k-2.6.24-19-generic
    And then install the script generated DEB normally.
    There are conflicting files in these two packages, and the previous one is not being automatically removed. Just remove it manually as mentioned above and you are ready to go!

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: ath9k

    I'm running Intrepid and it's working without any manual intervention for me. One problem though, it seems to stop working every so often, usually about 20 minutes or so. Reconnecting fixes it. Has anyone else seen this?

  8. #118
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Question Re: ath9k

    Quote Originally Posted by xerosis View Post
    I'm running Intrepid and it's working without any manual intervention for me. One problem though, it seems to stop working every so often, usually about 20 minutes or so. Reconnecting fixes it. Has anyone else seen this?
    actually the problem i am experiencing now is the horribly slow transmit and receive speed....

    My connection will go from 28% to 115% and all the while, i cannot connect to any website without it taking 5-10 minutes to load. refresh multiple times does no help..

    ive went from right next to the router to across the building, and nothing helps. Is there any way to fix this?
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  9. #119
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    353

    Re: ath9k

    Just for knowledge, im not on a mac, its an asus m70vm-x1 just so you all know.
    I don't pretend to be captain weird. I just do what I do.
    Ubuntu user #23413

  10. #120
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    93

    Re: ath9k

    in my case ath9k-20080916 does not work, while the older version ath9k-20080907 works without any problems. i have updated from the original version of ath9k-20080806 (which had problems with weak signal APs). thanks again, volanin!

Page 12 of 19 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •