Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 75

Thread: [SOLVED] Atheros Wireless Woes

  1. #61
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,361
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    Quote Originally Posted by epiphonygirl View Post
    ok, so how do we make ndiswrapper load the driver at startup? since it doesn't do that yet.
    That is absolutely fantastic!

    Run this command and ndiswrapper will load on boot:
    Code:
    echo "ndiswrapper" | sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    Last edited by dmizer; August 5th, 2008 at 12:35 AM.

  2. #62
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Paris
    Beans
    5,538
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    It Worked!! to enable roaming and then select wireless networks from that and put in the name and the wepkey. I will look back through the thread and outline what we had to do to make it work.
    Good to hear. I think the problem for quite a while may have been failure to load the ndiswrapper module at boot. You obviously did a lot of stuff here before getting it to work, but I think that the last time you installed ndiswrapper, it probably would have worked even with the first Windows driver that you loaded into there; the one that I told you to install may not have been necessary (but at least you know that that one works).

    So basically, I think the steps are:

    1. blacklist ath_pci
    2. install ndiswrapper
    3. load the Windows driver from the acer website
    4. run dmizer's command to be sure that ndiswrapper gets loaded at boot
    5. connect!

  3. #63
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    yeah, something just broke when I ran
    Code:
    echo "ndiswrapper" | sudo tee -a /etc/modules
    my network monitor disappeared from by the clock after I tried to connect to my wireless and it timed out. Now I can't get the wireless or the wired connection to use roaming mode either...the checkbox is just gone and has been replaced with enable blah blah connection
    -------------------------------------------
    Laptop: Lenovo R61e 1.5GBRAM, WD 80GB HDD, Intel Celeron 1.86GHz Processor.
    Desktop: Epox 9NPA+SLI, AMD Athlon64, XFX Nvidia 8600GT, WD 80GB and 160GB HDD

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    dmitzer after I ran your command and rebooted I tried to connect to the wireless the same way I just did and it timed out and I tried again and then I tried one more time then I clicked cancel and it deleted the network monitor from by my clock! Also, in network I only have an option to enable my wireless and my wired connection and there is no roaming option available. Help! lol
    -------------------------------------------
    Laptop: Lenovo R61e 1.5GBRAM, WD 80GB HDD, Intel Celeron 1.86GHz Processor.
    Desktop: Epox 9NPA+SLI, AMD Athlon64, XFX Nvidia 8600GT, WD 80GB and 160GB HDD

  5. #65
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,361
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    That shouldn't have broken anything.

    Please post the results of:
    Code:
    cat /etc/modules

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    Yeah, I know it shouldn't have and now all that I can use for interfaces according to network monitor is "wlan0:avahi" "eth0:avahi" and "lo" all of which have 169.XXXX.XXXX.XXXX IP addresses when all of mine should be 192.168.XXXX.XXXX As a result I cannot even access the net wired or wirelessly. here is the output...yay for flash drives.

    Code:
    melissafrench@melissafrench-laptop:~$ cat /etc/modules 
    # /etc/modules: kernel modules to load at boot time. 
    # 
    # This file contains the names of kernel modules that should be loaded 
    # at boot time, one per line. Lines beginning with "#" are ignored. 
    
    fuse 
    lp 
    ndiswrapper* 
    ndiswrapper 
    melissafrench@melissafrench-laptop:~$
    I see ndiswrapper twice...would that have something to do with the odd configurations possibly?
    -------------------------------------------
    Laptop: Lenovo R61e 1.5GBRAM, WD 80GB HDD, Intel Celeron 1.86GHz Processor.
    Desktop: Epox 9NPA+SLI, AMD Athlon64, XFX Nvidia 8600GT, WD 80GB and 160GB HDD

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kitakyushu Japan
    Beans
    9,361
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    Indeed it would seem so.

    Open the file with this command:
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/modules
    delete the "ndiswrapper*" line, save the file, and reboot.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    ok so i got rid of the extra ndiswrapper module and now it all seems fine except I can't seem to connect to my network. I checked my router and I have a 64bit hex wepkey. All it does is seem to sit there.
    -------------------------------------------
    Laptop: Lenovo R61e 1.5GBRAM, WD 80GB HDD, Intel Celeron 1.86GHz Processor.
    Desktop: Epox 9NPA+SLI, AMD Athlon64, XFX Nvidia 8600GT, WD 80GB and 160GB HDD

  9. #69
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Moonlight Hill Zone
    Beans
    640
    Distro
    Ubuntu 14.04 Trusty Tahr

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    I hope this topic helps you
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=815467
    good luck

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    USA
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Atheros Wireless Woes

    When I run sudo iwlist scan

    Code:
    melissafrench@melissafrench-laptop:~$ sudo iwlist scan 
    [sudo] password for melissafrench: 
    lo        Interface doesn't support scanning. 
    
    eth0      Interface doesn't support scanning. 
    
    wlan0     No scan results 
    
    melissafrench@melissafrench-laptop:~$ dmesg | grep -ewlan -e net5211 
    [   33.720267] ndiswrapper: driver net5211 (,05/02/2007,5.3.0.45) loaded 
    [   34.140616] wlan0: ethernet device 00:1f:3a:8f:13:96 using serialized NDIS driver: net5211, version: 0x50003, NDIS version: 0x501, vendor: 'NDIS Network Adapter', 168C:001C.5.conf 
    [   34.146872] wlan0: encryption modes supported: WEP; TKIP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK; AES/CCMP with WPA, WPA2, WPA2PSK 
    [   45.456936] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready 
    [   73.071938] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready 
    [   79.199843] ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready 
    melissafrench@melissafrench-laptop:~$
    -------------------------------------------
    Laptop: Lenovo R61e 1.5GBRAM, WD 80GB HDD, Intel Celeron 1.86GHz Processor.
    Desktop: Epox 9NPA+SLI, AMD Athlon64, XFX Nvidia 8600GT, WD 80GB and 160GB HDD

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •