Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Trouble with FireFox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Trouble with FireFox

    All of a sudden my Firefox stopped working. It'll open and after a few seconds automatically close.

    I ran Firefox from the terminal and here is what I came up with:

    $ ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib/libartsdsp.so.0' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
    ERROR: ld.so: object '/usr/lib/libartsc.so.0' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
    ** Message: GetValue variable 1 (1)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 2 (2)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 1 (1)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 2 (2)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 1 (1)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 2 (2)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 1 (1)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 2 (2)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 1 (1)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 2 (2)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 1 (1)
    ** Message: GetValue variable 2 (2)
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetMIMEDescription
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetMIMEDescription return
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetValue
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetValue: returning plugin name.
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetValue return
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetValue
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetValue: returning plugin description.
    GCJ PLUGIN: thread 0x622920: NP_GetValue return
    /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/firefox: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2: undefined symbol: pixman_format_supported_destination
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    Anyone?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Beans
    1,541
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    hmmm...you could try reinstalling. This command will do that and leave your profile intact:


    sudo apt-get remove --purge firefox-3.0
    sudo apt-get install firefox-3.0

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    Nope, no changes. I think it may have something to do with libcairo as can be seen in the error message:

    /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.1/firefox: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2: undefined symbol: pixman_format_supported_destination

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    US
    Beans
    2,782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    what is the output of:
    Code:
    ls -l ~/.mozilla/firefox
    Desktop: Q6600 OC: 343 x 9, 4 GB RAM, 8600 GTS Twinview (22",17"), 1.5 TB RAID 5
    Laptop: Lenovo T61 T7300 @ 2 GHz, 2GB RAM, Nvidia 140M Quadro, 160 GB harddrive
    Remember to mark posts as [SOLVED] when your problem is resolved

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    That gives me:

    total 8
    drwx------ 7 nadim nadim 4096 2008-08-03 17:10 3me4i383.default
    -rw-r--r-- 1 nadim nadim 94 2008-07-23 09:00 profiles.ini

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    US
    Beans
    2,782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    Quote Originally Posted by nadimRafehi View Post
    That gives me:
    everything looks fine there. Try this:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libcairo2
    Desktop: Q6600 OC: 343 x 9, 4 GB RAM, 8600 GTS Twinview (22",17"), 1.5 TB RAID 5
    Laptop: Lenovo T61 T7300 @ 2 GHz, 2GB RAM, Nvidia 140M Quadro, 160 GB harddrive
    Remember to mark posts as [SOLVED] when your problem is resolved

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    Hmm, it seems to be working a bit better now. It closes when I visit certain pages though. For example, if I try to log into gmail it'll close once the loading bar has filled.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    Quote Originally Posted by tamoneya View Post
    everything looks fine there. Try this:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libcairo2
    No, that's already installed.

    Maybe Cairo-Dock may have something to do with it. I couldn't get it to work with Glitz using the SVN version (French error messages are painful) so I ended up using the --remove command on the SVN file. Could that have something to do with it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: Trouble with FireFox

    Any ideas on where I can go from here?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •