Thread: Bunch of noobie questions

Beans

Bunch of noobie questions

Hi,
    I have been using Ubuntu on and off for a couple of months now (more off than on). So I know a little bit about what I would like to do but I am having trouble getting the OS to do what I would like.
    Let me get the real easy question out of the way first. Where would I go to find a glossary of sorts for common terminal commands like making directories, deleting files, etc.
    My second question, I think is not as straight forward. I installed the latest version of Ubuntu this morning. After the install, I when and got all the latest updates then turned it off and installed a hard drive. It was formatted for NTFS although nothing was on it. So I try to mount the thing and it doesn't all me to mount it. Citing "Unable to mount volume" I search for a solution for the problem and it gets me nowhere. Finally, I stumble upon this page and start to follow along. When I get down to the mounting portion, it give me a command not found error.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

Re: Bunch of noobie questions

Quote Originally Posted by foy1der View Post
    Hi,
    I have been using Ubuntu on and off for a couple of months now (more off than on). So I know a little bit about what I would like to do but I am having trouble getting the OS to do what I would like.
    Let me get the real easy question out of the way first. Where would I go to find a glossary of sorts for common terminal commands like making directories, deleting files, etc.