Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [SOLVED] No Wireless on used T42 (don't know what I'm supposed to see or have)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    world (currently germany)
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    [SOLVED] No Wireless on used T42 (don't know what I'm supposed to see or have)

    Hello,
    I bought a used IBM T42 (my first laptop) without OS, installed Ubuntu (my first linux), am now trying to set up the wireless (unexperienced yet) and now find myself in for a bit too much.

    The installation went rather smoothly; got the video, managed to get the audio working, played around with the Ubuntu-laptop for about two weeks so we could become friends, found out I couldn't connect my old adsl-modem as it is not supported by linux (doesn't matter, just telling you so you know I haven't installed anything other than Ubuntu yet) but I can't see any wireless.

    ifconfig shows only eth0 and lo
    iwconfig lists 3 items (lo, eth0, irda0), all have "no wireless extensions"

    One of my problems using all the various help-pages is that I can't really specify "my" make or model of e.g. the wificard and also, I can only use my old XP PC for the information-hunt on the internet and can't easily transfer stuff between the laptop and the pc because only the laptop has a working CDdrive so I'm typing the outputs manually here, hoping to avoid typos while trying to give you as much information as you need. :-/

    From the seller I know there should be "Modem 56Kbps ITU V.92 Hayes AT-Befehlssatz, Intel PRO/1000 MT Mobile Connection, Cisco Wireless 802.11b 11MBit". From Ubuntu I get:

    lshw
    *network:0
    Ethernet interface
    82540EP Gigabit Ethernet Controller (Mobile)
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=e1000 driverversion=7.3.20-k2-NAPI firmware=N/A latency=64 mingnt=255 module=e1000 multicast=yes

    *network:1
    Network Controller
    Cisco Aironet Wireless 802.11b (driver=airo)

    *-communication UNCLAIMED
    description: Modem
    product: 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Modem Controller
    vendor: Intel Corporation
    configuration: latency=0


    I'm very confused right now as this is really not my field of expertise and I'm beginning to run in circles so I'd love to hear from someone who knows what they're doing where I need go from here. Do I need the firmware for the ethernet device (is this the Intel Pro/1000?), is Cisco the wireless and if it is, I read it should work out of the box so does it have the right driver?

    Any help or hint is greatly appreciated.
    Have a nice day,
    bellmount

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: No Wireless on used T42 (don't know what I'm supposed to see or have)

    Run
    Code:
    gedit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    from a terminal and at the end of the file add these lines:

    Code:
    # these aes modules break the airo driver
    blacklist padlock_aes
    blacklist geode_aes
    Last edited by northern lights; July 23rd, 2008 at 07:36 PM.
    One ought, every day at least, to hear a little song, read a good poem, see a fine picture, and, if it were possible, speak a few reasonable words...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    732

    Re: No Wireless on used T42 (don't know what I'm supposed to see or have)

    Quote Originally Posted by northern lights View Post
    Run gedit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

    and at the end of the file add these lines:

    Code:
    # these aes modules break the airo driver
    blacklist padlock_aes
    blacklist geode_aes

    northernlights suggestion should work for you.

    Since you are new to Linux I thought you might need a little more detail.
    To run gedit you open a terminal and copy and paste the command at the prompt.
    Code:
    gedit /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist
    Once the file comes up, copy and paste the lines from northernlights post to the end of the file. Save and close. Retry your wireless.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    world (currently germany)
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: No Wireless on used T42 (don't know what I'm supposed to see or have)

    My, you guys are quick. And efficient. *beam*

    After a reboot the wireless lights up now and I get "wireless" as an option when I click on the network manager.

    ifconfig shows eth0, lo and eth1 now
    iwconfig additionally gives wifi0
    lshw shows *-network:1 configured with driver=airo (which I hope is okay since you instructed me to "break" the driver - which I hadn't heard before and will google now.)


    So thank you both ever so much, you've totally made my day. )
    All the best,
    bellmount

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    732

    Re: No Wireless on used T42 (don't know what I'm supposed to see or have)

    Great to hear you are up and running. Have fun with your new Ubuntu OS. Also, please mark this thread as solved.

    Enjoy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Beans
    10
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: [SOLVED] No Wireless on used T42 (don't know what I'm supposed to see or have)

    Is the file supposed to look like this?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •