Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: [SOLVED] Toshiba problems Help please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Smile [SOLVED] Toshiba problems Help please

    I have purchased a Toshiba Satellite A205-S5000 for the sole purpose of running Ubunto and learning all about Linux. ($398 at Wal mart)

    My problem is that I have loaded up Ubuntu 8.04 from a disk (which went well) but it will not recognize my wireless card, and even after hooking up the computer directly by wire I can not access the Internet.

    Can anybody give me some insight into my problem and possible solutions?

    Mark

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    23,178
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    Quote Originally Posted by markab9569 View Post
    I have purchased a Toshiba Satellite A205-S5000 for the sole purpose of running Ubunto and learning all about Linux. ($398 at Wal mart)

    My problem is that I have loaded up Ubuntu 8.04 from a disk (which went well) but it will not recognize my wireless card, and even after hooking up the computer directly by wire I can not access the Internet.

    Can anybody give me some insight into my problem and possible solutions?

    Mark
    Hi and welcome, you can use the command
    Code:
    lspci
    In the terminal located under applications, accessories, terminal and this will identify your hardware and then you can search the forums or post the info.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Lakeland FL
    Beans
    48
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    Please post the output from

    Code:
    lspci
    and

    Code:
    ifconfig
    ALso in make sure roaming mode is enabled in the system->Administration->network section. It should be, by default, but can't hurt to check.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    I have attached the results of running those commands

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    Here are the results as simple text.

    mark@mark-ubunto:~$ lspci
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
    00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
    00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
    00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
    00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
    00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
    04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
    05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
    0c:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
    0c:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
    0c:04.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
    0c:04.3 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller
    mark@mark-ubunto:~$ ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:38:de:33
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:250 Base address:0xc000

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:1382 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1382 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:69100 (67.4 KB) TX bytes:69100 (67.4 KB)
    Last edited by overdrank; July 23rd, 2008 at 02:27 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    ok, you have an Atheros wireless card.

    05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)

    but Ubuntu doesn't see it so far. this thread may help

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...hlight=Atheros
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    I am still having a problem with the first half of this question, which is getting a hardwire connection to the internet.

    I put the ethernet cable from the cable modem directly into the ethernet jack on the toshiba, and it recognizes the network, but firefox still won't go to the Internet.

    I have checked and roaming is enabled and browser is in online mode


    Mark

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Beans
    519
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    Quote Originally Posted by markab9569 View Post
    I am still having a problem with the first half of this question, which is getting a hardwire connection to the internet.

    I put the ethernet cable from the cable modem directly into the ethernet jack on the toshiba, and it recognizes the network, but firefox still won't go to the Internet.

    I have checked and roaming is enabled and browser is in online mode


    Mark
    Are you sure you don't need any proxy settings? Or a static IP?
    Also, after you think you are connected to the internet, ifconfig should show you your IP address (inet addr). If it is still 127.0.0.1, as the text you pasted shows, I think there might be a problem with receiving an IP.
    make install - not war!

    Oh hai!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Beans
    5,714

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    the 127.0.0.1 is for his lo (loopback) address. His eth0 isn't showing an address at all.

    open a terminal and try
    Code:
    sudo ifup eth0
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

    what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Toshiba problems Help please

    I ran that command and got the message ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •