Thread: how to intall/run

Beans

Angry how to intall/run

hi,
    i am very new to ubuntu so please pardon my ignorance. i have no idea how to run or install anything. i downloaded a free dvd player but its just sitting on my desktop. its called cdvd.exe. i try opening it or running dvds on it but it does nothing. i assumed it will install/run itself as in windows. can anyone help?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Re: how to intall/run

Use synaptic to install programs. It's in System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager.

That cdvd.exe won't run on ubuntu unless you have WINE, it may not work at all. What's this program for?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

You cannot download exe's and run them natively in Ubuntu. You can run it in Wine, though you can never be 100% it will work. Trying looking for applications in the Synaptic package manager or download the .deb installers for your desired applications.
    www.runtime-era.com - Blog About My Journey as a Developer

Beans

exe's are windows executable files, so it may or not run under wine, first I'd check for a linux version or alternative, if it's to play DVD's then I'd recomend the default media player after installing the restricted extras package(see how to install anything in ubuntu, your after ubuntu-restricted-extras), or try VLC is which is a nice choice. there's also guides on how to install wine, although it's easy enough.
    http://www.winehq.org/site/download-deb

Beans
    Distro
    Kubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Well, first off Ubuntu will not run Windows .exe files as it is GNU/Linux.
    That being said, A program called wine allows you to run some Windows programs in Ubuntu.
    It is reversed engendered and that is why it does not always work perfectly. ( Micro Soft are not going to tell us how Windows does things that is why wine has to be reverse engendered. )