Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to make Ubuntu look nicer?

Beans

How to make Ubuntu look nicer?

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to Linux. I currently have Ubuntu 8.04.1 installed through Wubi. Right now my desktop and everything looks very plain. I have seen some videos that show Ubuntu just look awesome, and would like to know how to do it. Things like these:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7QyyC4LRoYI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xC5uE...eature=related

Thanks for any help you can provide

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: How to make Ubuntu look nicer?

Have a look at www.gnome-look.org
    Windows is the best virus detector on the market!
    Ubuntu attracts Human Beings - Windows attracts viruses and worms

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Hello!

I am a KDE user, but if I remind well, you have in top menú the desktop preferences. You can change style of widgets, colors, icons and window decoration.

You can check this page: www.gnome-look.org in order to preview and download wished styles, icons...

I'm sorry but I cannot help you much more, I'm not a Gnome user.

Bye!

EDIT: bumanie is faster than me!!
    SORRY FOR MY POOR ENGLISH!!! I DO ALL THAT I CAN!!!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Under System > Preferences > Appearance are a few options to change the look of Ubuntu. For instance, you can choose a different overall theme, you can add a background image to the desktop, or, to make a more radical change, you can choose the Visual Effects option: this allows you to choose things like transparent windows and wobbly windows, I believe (I've never applied it myself but it is very popular with some people).
    "All people are scum. No matter what they look like." ~ Spider Jerusalem, Transmetropolitan #4

Beans

Compiz Fusion, Emerald window manager, New Icons, Fonts...

Beans
    Hidden!

Format the drive and install openSUSE!

LOL