Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Allowing Ubuntu desktop to supply windows XP to other desktop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phillipines
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Question Allowing Ubuntu desktop to supply windows XP to other desktop

    I am wondering if it is possible to make my desktop an OS server that would supply software to my other computers? Please tell me the steps on how I can do it and also the requirements.

    I'm using ubuntu 7.10 gutsy


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phillipines
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Allowing Ubuntu desktop to supply windows XP to other desktop

    BUMP

    also if you're using VMware can you also extract it by the client pc?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    the space between spaces.
    Beans
    1,654

    Re: Allowing Ubuntu desktop to supply windows XP to other desktop

    Could be more clear as to what you want to do?
    "If a cluttered desk signs a cluttered mind, Of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?" -Albert Einstein.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phillipines
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Allowing Ubuntu desktop to supply windows XP to other desktop

    I'm thinking of using my ubuntu desktop as a network server that could supply OS/programs to my other computer. Do you think its possible? I have an opensource VM that has windows xp installed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Phillipines
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: Allowing Ubuntu desktop to supply windows XP to other desktop

    Bump

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Beans
    151
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: Allowing Ubuntu desktop to supply windows XP to other desktop

    I think I know what you mean. For example, I installed VMWare 2 RC 1 on my desktop and created a Windows XP Pro VM. Then on my laptop I connect to the VM via the webserver console and use it that way. My laptop is a bit old and runs slow, but the Windows VM will run much faster from my desktop. The only thing is that you need to have a fast connection if you're doing extensive work (mainly graphical). Now, you could also do the same with VirtualBox, but it's a bit more complicated than VMware's route.

    Hopefully, I answered your question. If not then I misunderstood you.
    XPS-420 Core 2 Q6600 2.4GHz 6.0GB, Nvidia 512MB 8800GT, 250GB Raid 1, BluRay, 8.04 64-bit.
    Dimension 8400 Pentium 4HT 3.0GHz 3GB, Nvidia 512MB 8600GT, 80GB Raid 1, 8.10.
    Inspiron 8500 Pentium 4M 2.2GHz 1.5GB, 9.04 & XP Pro.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •