Thread: TCP retransmissions in Ubuntu

Beans

TCP retransmissions in Ubuntu

Hello,
    I'm kind of new in Ubuntu. Even so, I jumped into recompiling the kernel to make TCP do something I want it to do. I've managed it well, =). The problem is the following:
    Test bed: one machine on Windows, one with Ubuntu 7.10, kernel 2.6.14.22, (I guess, or 22.14). Client app running on Windows, server app running on the Ubuntu. Machine with Client is disconnected on purpose (no socket shutdown).
    Problem: When TCP can't deliver a packet, it will start retransmitting. I read and found the constant that sets the maximum number of retransmissions, which is 15. After that, TCP "should" give up and close the connection. I changed that number to be large, (for research purposes) but, it doesn't work, because:
    Ubuntu doesn't wait until 15 retransmissions. After like 6 or 7 retransmissions, it starts sending ARP packets asking for the missing PC. After 9 rounds of 3 ARP packets, it closes the connection and the socket returns "no route to host". Meanning, ARP triggered the connection shutdown. Is there something else I'm missing in Ubuntu?
    I tried the same with Unix, and it actually retransmits until the maximum (13 in Unix) and then gives up, with no ARP packets.
    Any suggestions, please???
    Thanks a lot!!!
    Regards, Miguel

Beans

Re: TCP retransmissions in Ubuntu

Not sure about your specific problem, but I would try changing the value like so instead of recompiling the kernel:

(as root):
    Code:
    echo 45 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_retries2
    Here we are, trapped in the amber of the moment. There is no why.

Beans

hello johnl, thanks for your response.