Thread: movie players crashing my computer

Beans

movie players crashing my computer

Hey im new to linux so i was wondering if anyone can help? I just installed linux unbuntu 8.04, and everyt time i play a movie it crashes my computer.
    Im running a 6200geforce nivida card(256mb), my screen savers and all other video works fine. but when i use totem or any movie player it crashs my computer. i got a 2.00 ghz proccesor, the chip is a sempron 2800+(AMD). Any suggestions?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Re: movie players crashing my computer

Quote Originally Posted by checkmateinc View Post
    Hey im new to linux so i was wondering if anyone can help? I just installed linux unbuntu 8.04, and everyt time i play a movie it crashes my computer.
    Im running a 6200geforce nivida card(256mb), my screen savers and all other video works fine. but when i use totem or any movie player it crashs my computer. i got a 2.00 ghz proccesor, the chip is a sempron 2800+(AMD). Any suggestions?
    as an easy first step- try a different movie player, and see if the crashes still occur.

i'd suggest looking at "vlc" and "mplayer".

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

I had this problem, with my Intel graphics, for all video players. I found that the problem was Compiz. So I have to disable Compiz, by going to System>Preferences>Appearence>Visual Effects tab and choosing None, everytime I watch a video that isn't in Flash. Luckily I don't watch too many non-flash videos

Blog | I'm available for programming contributions. C & Python.
    Intel Core i7 920 | EVGA x58 SLI | NVidia GeForce 8600 GT | WD 500GB HDD | Corsair XMS3 3GB | Ubuntu 9.04

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala