Quote Originally Posted by dewittdale View Post
So to the novice you're pointing to the fact one can delete the known_hosts file and it will regenerate when making future connections via ssh, yes? Or would merely cutting and saving from within the file be more appropriate in terms of electron efficiency?
Yes, you can delete the ~/.ssh/known_hosts and it will be re-configured.

If you prefer, go ahead and edit the file, delete the host that changed.

The general idea here is that you get a warning the the server you are logging into has changed in some way. If you know it has changed, no big deal. If not, you should check with the sys admin (of the server). This eliminates "spoofing" if yo will.