Thread: Setting up a small office on Ubuntu

Beans

Red face Setting up a small office on Ubuntu

All those years I spent working in a Windows shop, ragging at them about how much better Ubuntu was and how I used it at home...blah, blah, blah (usual Ubuntu fanboy na-na). Well, looks like karma has come home to roost. I've got a chance to put my money where my mouth is.

I've taken over technical management of a small start up and have an opportunity to build a Ubuntu-based office from the ground up. The company has gotten their start relying on outsource providers for most of their applications, so I have some time to put together an office network and development platform. I'm trying to make the office network client OS agnostic, staff already are using a mix of Mac and Windows.

It suddenly dawned on me I'm out of my depth, I'm a developer more than a network admin. But lack of ability never stopped me before and I'd still like to at least try to put our network and office framework together on a Ubuntu based core system. That doesn't mean there won't be a steeking Windows box on there at some point, but I've been saying since last year you could run an office or enterprise on Ubuntu. Now I have a chance to prove it.

I've got a small equipment budget to get started. I built all my home PC's from parts and some of these boxes have never seen anything but Ubuntu, so I'm confident of being able to build my own workstation. But I'm wondering about setting up a small office server. Just basic network services at first, but one of my first big projects will be the company portal (I'm looking at SSL-Explorer: Enterprise Edition). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I'm wondering if I can use the server as a workstation for a while and then convert it to the office server and build another workstation, or if it's better not to mix them? Just get the parts and build a small headless server and run it through the web admin?