Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: dpkg --configure -a

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    4

    dpkg --configure -a

    This is my first time using Ubuntu. I had installed and run an update. I had over 120 updates to perform however, when I try to install the updates I receive an error which reads run 'dpkg --configure -a" to correct the problem E:_cache->open() failed, please report. How do I fix?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Here & Now
    Beans
    16,549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: dpkg --configure -a

    In the Terminal:
    sudo dpkg --configure -a

    Dr. Fernando Duran Dollenz
    Libertad 584
    6824871

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southern California, USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: dpkg --configure -a

    Do as Pumalite suggested. What version of ubuntu did you download? There is a newer version with many updates included : Ubuntu 8.04.1 LTS
    boot_info_script | AMD64 Athlon X2 Dual-Core - nVidia Geforce 6150 SE - 4GB DDR3

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: dpkg --configure -a

    I did use the mentioned version. I downloaded from web just last week.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Here & Now
    Beans
    16,549
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: dpkg --configure -a

    Are you upgrading from Alternate or are you preparing for a clean install?

    Dr. Fernando Duran Dollenz
    Libertad 584
    6824871

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: dpkg --configure -a

    I did a clean install. Should I just try it again?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: dpkg --configure -a

    I did a new install, should I try again?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Trafalmadore
    Beans
    948
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Smile Re: dpkg --configure -a

    If you ran the command it should have finished the install but not the upgrade packages generally if it is now ready for the 120 upgrade packages generally you should be okay. Sometimes in a new install or a upgrade a glitch can cause the need of this command, it generally doesn't mean a failure.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •