Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: [SOLVED] Upgrading RAM...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    big round bluish thing
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    [SOLVED] Upgrading RAM...

    Greetings!

    So, this isn't exactly an Ubuntu-related question, but the community has been so helpful thus far. I figured it couldn't hurt to ask, and at the very least you cats can point me in the right direction.

    I picked up some new RAM for my Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop, and although it should be compatible & there's no problem with the 2 ram slots, my computer will not recognize the new modules. With both installed, the computer will not boot, and with one new & one old installed it only recognizes the old module. When purchasing the modules, I made sure that they matched the specs that Dell recommended. I've already flashed the BIOS, and still no go. Any suggestions, comments, help would be greatly appreciated - I realize that there's a chance the modules are crap, but I need to determine if it's a problem on my end before I rattle my sabre & return/exchange them. Thanks so much!

    Trying to install: SAMSUNG 4GB DDR2 SODIMM 4 GB PC2 PC 5300 667Mhz 2 X 2GB

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bruxelles, Belgium
    Beans
    657

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    Are you sure the computer supports 4GB ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    big round bluish thing
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    I'm about 95% sure; it's two slots can each support 2GB, and I checked memoryexpress.com's recommendations & a couple other places.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bruxelles, Belgium
    Beans
    657

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    How many modules do you have in total ? One new and one old, two new and one old or ... ? Try the new modules one at a time and see if they can be recognized. Also, try all the possible combinations between them (including changing the slots). Go here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Intel_chipsets and check that your chipset supports maximum of 4GB of ram (this is probably the case but you can never be too sure). This might not be important but, when changing the ram modules, remove the laptop battery before doing any change whatsoever. Good luck !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    big round bluish thing
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    I've got two new modules, and my laptop came with two 512Mb modules. Unfortunately I tried all the combos - both new, one old & one new, and vice versa to make sure it wasn't a problem with the slots. I'll double check the chipset when I get home in a couple hours, thanks for the link!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Shepperton, UK.
    Beans
    2,489
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    What type of OS are you using ? If it's 32 bit you'll never see much more than 3.2Gb due to address limitations. Same thing if the processor is only 32 bit.
    The other thing you could check is if there's any BIOS protection stopping you from reconfiguring.
    Intel E5700 G41 8Gb Xubuntu 13.10, Ubuntu 13.4, WinXP.
    Revo R3610 Win7 Pro, Ubuntu 13.04

    Absolute Beginners Compiz-fusion wiki Local Weather

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    big round bluish thing
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    I'm using Ubuntu Hardy w/ Vista home basic, 32 bit, dual-booted. I'm really not very tech-savvy, how would one go about checking whether there's BIOS protection?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    big round bluish thing
    Beans
    40
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    I don't think there's anything BIOS-wise preventing a different system configuration; when I had one 2GB module & one of the original 512Mb installed, it recognized that the amount of system memory had changed but only recognized the 512Mb.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Bruxelles, Belgium
    Beans
    657

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    Well, do not worry, the problem is not the OS. Even if Ubuntu would not see all the 3.2 GB, the computer would function perfectly normal. Try entering bios (obviously with the old ram installed) and look for any suspicious options ... whatever those might be. Consult the DELL technical booklet for changing ram and bios configuration options (there are only a few on laptops anyway).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    56

    Re: Upgrading RAM...

    Dell doesn't provide BIOS options in their computers really, not even the desktops. It's not the BIOS. Yes, the 1525 can use 4GB but you should go with Dell's recommendation as they can be finicky.

    My money is on the motherboard being faulty. If that's not it then it's the memory modules or user error.

    If you tried the new modules individually and neither worked then it's likely the motherboard.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •