Thread: Corrupt Partition

Beans

Corrupt Partition

A friend of mine gave me her hard drive (we'll call this one HDD1) because the C: partition which had Windows XP (the only OS she had installed) got corrupted.. She said she had taken it to 2 shops for data recovery and both weren't able to access the data on HDD1.. One of the random tests I did was run my Ubuntu 7.04 Live CD on her computer and I was able to access all the files on her C: partition..

I removed HDD1 put in another one (we'll call this HDD2) in her computer to install Ubuntu on it so I can copy the files over.. The installation worked.. But after installing Ubuntu and running from HDD2 and re-inserting HDD1, the computer no longer detected HDD1.. I'm not that experienced with Linux, but iirc other HDD's would show up in computer and then all you have to do is to mount the disk by double clicking it.. The only things I found in computer were filesystem, CD/DVD-ROM and the floppy drive..

So question 1: Am I doing something wrong with mounting the other harddrive? If so, what am I doing wrong and what do I need to do?

Next problem.. I decided to try the Live CD again, but while it was booting Ubuntu from the CD, I got the following error(s):
    Code:
    BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debain 1:1.1.3-3ubuntu3) Built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

/bin/sh: can't access tty: job control turned off
    (initramfs)
    Question 2: What does that mean? And why isn't it working now, when it was working earlier when I installed Ubuntu from the CD? What do I need to do to get the Live CD to work again on that computer?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help.