Page 50 of 64 FirstFirst ... 40484950515260 ... LastLast
Results 491 to 500 of 636

Thread: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

  1. #491
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    136

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    I managed to remove cpufreq and reinstall powernowd.
    I added powernow-k8 to /etc/modules
    my cpu-family is 17
    Code:
    martin@martin-laptop:~$ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep family
    cpu family	: 17
    cpu family	: 17
    so I changed the value for K8 in /etc/init.d/loadcpufreq.
    The important part in loadcpufreq looks like this now:

    .
    .
    .
    Code:
     # Hurrah. This is nice and easy.
                case $CPU_FAMILY in
                    5)
                        # K6
                        MODULE=powernow-k6
                        ;;
                    6)
                        # K7
                        MODULE=powernow-k7
                        ;;
                    17)
                        K8
                        MODULE=powernow-k8
                        ;;
                esac
    Am I right to remove the "#" infront of the K8?

    before:
    17)
    # K8
    MODULE=powernow-k8

    now:
    17)
    K8
    MODULE=powernow-k8

    I've just been away from the computer for an hour, and when I came back it clearly was more silent - maybe it works?

    to tC_Crazy
    I have set the cpu-gadget to powersave (500 mhz). Is it supposed to chance to another level when more power is required?
    The laptop has got 2 cpu's. Is the mode individual for the cpu's or is the mode automatically set for both cpu's?

  2. #492
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    246
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    I hate to drag this thread back into the stylus/touch doldrums, but I've gone and messed things up again.

    I did a clean reinstallation, this time of kubuntu. And while I was able to get stylus and touch working previously, now I'm getting stalled. Specifically, at the "make" command, things start to fall apart.

    I've attached a file of my terminal, and I'm hoping that one of you can help me out. I really have only a vague sense of what these commands are doing and what the responses mean.

    Thanks a lot.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #493
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    69

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    martinjochimsen,
    If you set it to one of the static levels (denoted by it's frequency in MHz or GHz), it will stay there all the time. The modes, like conservative, ondemand, etc., however, will automatically change levels as more power is needed. They just react differently (performance will tend to increase clock speed for more simple tasks than powersave, for instance).

    As far as powernow-k8 goes, I never had to mess with the module settings. I have the ZM-86 processor (2.4GHz dual-core). Not sure if that's relevant.

    Docaltmed,
    Try sudo make. I have to run nearly every command as root when compiling the wacom driver or it gives me annoying errors. I also had to re-download the tar once because wacom.ko would never appear when unzipped. And every update breaks it =p

  4. #494
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Beans
    1

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    Hi.

    I have a tx2524ca and i tried to use lm_sensors but sensors-detect doesn't detect anything. How can i monitor CPU temperature?

    Also, i want to use conky.
    Anyone have a config/script for temperature monitor?

    Thank you.

  5. #495
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    13

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    My fellow linux brothers, i need some serious help getting my stylus and touch working. i follow the first 6 steps where it ends with


    " You will now need to restart !!!. This is necessary on Intrepid!

    Okay that installed it, but now we need to configure our xserver...."


    its says if it doesn't kick in restart it again but i've restarted like 8x with no luck. I've been going at the for a few months and i really dont wanna go back to windows but i cant stay with this OS if i cant get the touch/stylus working. I got aim, skype, yahoo, and msn.

  6. #496
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Beans
    136

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    Hi Kjamo36

    I don't know which guide you have been following, but Favux' guide (gali's guide updated), worked for me just yesterday.....but I have done it before and I did some tricks also!
    It also never worked for me with the restarts (10 times or so), so this time (yesterday) I did something else. I used the Favux_TX2500_xorg.conf from Favux' guide (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...68#post6559068) and then I also added "wacom" to /etc/modules.

    I didn't continue with the guide from where you stopped and I didnt open the xintrc file or anything else.

    Well I knew it would work, because as I said I have done it before and the xorg.conf is from my laptop (tx2590oe).

    Do you know how to replace the xorg.conf and add the module "wacom"?
    Just remember to do a backup of your original xorg.conf.

    Martin

  7. #497
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    Hey i am sorry if there is a better place to ask this but i have a tx 2500 and i can not get my speakers to work. i get very low sound out of my headphone jacks but nothing out of my speakers.
    Can you please help me?

    EDIT: I forgot to say i am running Ubuntu 8.10 64 bit
    Last edited by mdb17; January 27th, 2009 at 07:57 PM.

  8. #498
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    9,635
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    Hi mdb17,

    gali98 found the fix for you. See the second post here:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...ighlight=sound

    So in a terminal type:
    Code:
    sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base
    And then add at the bottom:
    Code:
    options snd-hda-intel index=0 model=toshiba position_fix=1
    Why this works I do not know. I just know it does!

    Also be sure to right click on the sound icon (upper right corner) and turn up the sliders including (PCM)

    Hope this helps.

  9. #499
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    ok thank you so much

  10. #500
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Beans
    16

    Re: Info and help for HP TX2500 Series

    ok i tried that but it didnt work. i am still having the same problem

Page 50 of 64 FirstFirst ... 40484950515260 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •