Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ripping in flac

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    539

    ripping in flac

    I am trying to rip my cd in flac.
    I search in the net it recommend using grip, but I couldn't instead it.
    Is there any other way or way to rip cd in extremely high quality flac?
    let the mighty power of people's will be with us

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Dakota
    Beans
    58
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.10 Gutsy Gibbon

    Re: ripping in flac

    I've successfully used "Rhythmbox Music Player" to rip FLAC from a disc.
    Asus P5K Premium | e3110 | 8gb G.Skill | 9800GTX | 5.35 TB
    CM 830 Evo Stacker | HX620W | 2x BenQ G2400W

    "I do not know what overkill means"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    539

    Re: ripping in flac

    how and at extreme high quality??
    With tags?
    Anyway picture please?
    let the mighty power of people's will be with us

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Beans
    4,917
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: ripping in flac

    Quote Originally Posted by zerobinary View Post
    I am trying to rip my cd in flac.
    I search in the net it recommend using grip, but I couldn't instead it.
    Is there any other way or way to rip cd in extremely high quality flac?
    Sound Juicer rips CDs to FLAC. SJ is installed OOB and the FLAC stuff is there OOB.
    Windows XP - Excellent computer virus detector.
    Windows Vista - Most bloat for the money.

    Visit my Ubuntu Resource Website http://www.stchman.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    539

    Re: ripping in flac

    Now I have ripped it using Rhythmbox Music Player.
    How can I check the quality?
    I need the flac to be in the best quality.
    let the mighty power of people's will be with us

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Beans
    890
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: ripping in flac

    FLAC stands for free LOSSLESS audio codec. It is always the highest quality, there will be no difference between the original the rip.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    11,048

    Re: ripping in flac

    As long as there are no problems with the source disc (scratches and such) or your burner, FLAC is lossless. The best way to test for source/burner errors is to listen to the track for pops, skips, etc. If you hear any, try cleaning the disc and perhaps the CD-ROM laser (if it's old or you've put dirty discs in there). Also, make sure the burner is mounted securely and the disc is in the tray properly.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    539

    Re: ripping in flac

    Isn't there are 8 level of flac????
    let the mighty power of people's will be with us

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    11,048

    Re: ripping in flac

    Quote Originally Posted by zerobinary View Post
    Isn't there are 8 level of flac????
    That refers to the level of compression, NOT sound quality. The tradeoff is between file size and encoding time.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •