Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Huawei e220 USB modem for beginners

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Huawei e220 USB modem for beginners

Welcome to my first HOWTO.

Before I begin, I would like to point out that I am NOT a computer expert, but after 6 months spent with ubuntu I have come to love computers as I no longer feel restricted or dictated to by my OS, in fact, I feel liberated, and I would like to thank all of the forum members as it is their contribution that makes all of the hurdles of computing shrink to a size that I feel I can approach with confidence.

As a result, I now feel confident enough to write a HOWTO and believe I actually have one to fill a much needed gap.

Anyway.....

Initially when I was trying to set up my e220, it was, quite simply, a headache. There are dozens of threads, within these forums alone, and countless elsewhere, but as these were generally responses to threads along the lines of "HELP!! Modem not working" they're generally asking for that users specific outputs and troubleshooting them, without explaining what was actually going on.

One HOWTO exists by tazz_tux, and I must acknowledge this as it definitely helped me a gain a better understanding, although for a n00b like myself much of it was over my head.

So lets get your modem working shall we......

Firstly, you should make sure you have wvdial installed, it is in the repositories, you can either open synaptic package manager and look for it there.

Main menu >System >Administration >Synaptic Package Manager

or open a terminal and type

Code:
    sudo apt-get install wvdial
    Now, with your modem plugged into an available USB port...
    (note:: this is more reliable connected directly to your computer as opposed to a hub, and also, some users report problems with the longer cable, but I have had no such problems on the 5 I have set up personally.)

Code:
    sudo wvdialconf