Thread: Looking for info before I install anything

Beans

Looking for info before I install anything

I have always looked at those cool videos on the internet of people running ubuntu and have always wanted to do it with my computer. I really am interested in it and I also am interested in "Beryl". I am far from a computer expert but I know my basics and can understand most of the tech talk. I am currently running Mac OSX Leopard on both my Macbook and iMac. I want to put my MacBook on ubuntu. From what I understand, the installation process is quite simple, just download the .iso and burn it to a DVD-R. Then install. Before I do any of this I would like to know a few things.

1.) Coming from a system where I use apps like iChat, will I be able to use an AIM client on Ubuntu?

2.) Will I still be able to charge the computer to the same level as with Mac?

3.) Is there an iTunes like application that will play my .mp3, .aif, and Purchased music?

4.) From Ubuntu, can I install Beryl? I picked this video out of YouTube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3p8IBNNd88

It resembled what I would like to see if I we're to have Beryl installed.

Thanks for any help you can give!

Ian

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Re: Looking for info before I install anything

Lots of good questions finding answers may be difficult to find but with my general experiences I think I can answer most of your questions:

1.) Coming from a system where I use apps like iChat, will I be able to use an AIM client on Ubuntu?
    Yes there are chat clients available for download and one I know for sure comes stock with Ubuntu 8.04 it's called Pidgin and it is an all in one chat client allowing you to add accounts from msn,google,yahoo,icq,etc.....

2.) Will I still be able to charge the computer to the same level as with Mac?