Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [SOLVED] gnome desktop environment needs firefox3?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    29 Low Dervish Row,Tarant
    Beans
    555

    [SOLVED] gnome desktop environment needs firefox3?

    i DILSIKE firefox, and want it gone. however, in synaptics, in order to remove firefox 3, gnome desktop envirenment must also be removed. why is this? i just want FIREFOX gone!
    -)SLV(-Zopiac
    X/K/Ice/Ubuntu, Arch, Mint, #!, Fedora, Yellow Dog, Puppy, DSLinux, OpenSuSE, Gentoo, Austrumi, TinyCore, Feather; Win9x, 2000, XP, 7, Mac OS 9.x, OS X
    3.1GHz Hexa AMD | nVidia 9800 GT card | Arch Linux

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    186

    Re: gnome desktop environment needs firefox3?

    Which package are you trying to uninstall? the only thing i get for additional required changes is firefox-3.0-gnome-support, which isnt gnome itself. What is going to replace firefox for you?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    29 Low Dervish Row,Tarant
    Beans
    555

    Re: gnome desktop environment needs firefox3?

    Quote Originally Posted by anderskitson View Post
    Which package are you trying to uninstall? the only thing i get for additional required changes is firefox-3.0-gnome-support, which isnt gnome itself. What is going to replace firefox for you?
    i am trying to uninstall firefox-3.0 (which autoselects others, including gnome desktop environment)

    i use Opera, fully. there is nothing firefox has that opera doesnt have, that i like, other than being centered around a fox (fav animal).
    -)SLV(-Zopiac
    X/K/Ice/Ubuntu, Arch, Mint, #!, Fedora, Yellow Dog, Puppy, DSLinux, OpenSuSE, Gentoo, Austrumi, TinyCore, Feather; Win9x, 2000, XP, 7, Mac OS 9.x, OS X
    3.1GHz Hexa AMD | nVidia 9800 GT card | Arch Linux

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    ISS
    Beans
    1,429

    Re: gnome desktop environment needs firefox3?

    Quote Originally Posted by Zopiac View Post
    i am trying to uninstall firefox-3.0 (which autoselects others, including gnome desktop environment)
    In a terminal write

    Code:
    sudo apt-get remove firefox-3.0
    and press enter. It will also remove the packages

    Code:
    firefox
    firefox-3.0-gnome-suport
    firefox-gnome-suport
    ubufox
    Say yes to these. These are only support files, removing them will NOT remove gnome.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Beans
    186

    Re: gnome desktop environment needs firefox3?

    You must have another package selected, all I get in synaptic is this when trying to uninstall firefox-3.0
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/8368367...06733/sizes/o/
    Which is exactly same as removing it in terminal

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    29 Low Dervish Row,Tarant
    Beans
    555

    Re: gnome desktop environment needs firefox3?

    Quote Originally Posted by anderskitson View Post
    You must have another package selected, all I get in synaptic is this when trying to uninstall firefox-3.0
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/8368367...06733/sizes/o/
    Which is exactly same as removing it in terminal
    no, when i select uninstall for firefox-3.0, it sahows me all of the other things needed to be uninstalled (in synaptics), where gnome desktop environment is included

    the terminal uninstall worked, though. thank you!
    -)SLV(-Zopiac
    X/K/Ice/Ubuntu, Arch, Mint, #!, Fedora, Yellow Dog, Puppy, DSLinux, OpenSuSE, Gentoo, Austrumi, TinyCore, Feather; Win9x, 2000, XP, 7, Mac OS 9.x, OS X
    3.1GHz Hexa AMD | nVidia 9800 GT card | Arch Linux

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •