Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making Xubuntu look like Windows XP

Beans

Question Making Xubuntu look like Windows XP

I want to install Xubuntu onto a fairly old desktop that seems to have become old and tired after running Windows XP for 6 or 7 years. However, at least one of the user accounts on it will need to be made to like as much like XP as possible to minimise the impact of making the switch. I'm experimenting on my Ubuntu laptop running (Xubuntu in Virtualbox) with customising Xfce. I'm no expert in this area, and the results aren't particularly pretty, although that's not really what I'm going for since I don't find Windows XP that attractive either.

Screenshot: http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/9...uxfcexpds1.png

So far, I've set the window theme to "Xfce-redmondxp", I've removed the top panel and changed the panel colour. I've (poorly) edited images of the XP Start Button, My Documents icon and My Computer icon in GIMP and used them as access to the main menu, Home Folder and File System, I've replaced the Firefox icon with the IE7 icon and I've replaced the Open Office icons with their MS Office equivalents. I've also placed the "Mount Devices" applet on the panel and used an icon similar to the Windows XP "Safely Remove Hardware" icon to represent it. I'm still waiting for one of the IE7-imitation Firefox themes to be made compatible with FF3. Is there anything else I can do?

I've also had a bit of a mess about with LXDE in Xubuntu, and from what I gather there's a lot more room for customisation (such as making the bottom panel look exactly like the one in XP through setting an image of the XP panel as its background), so maybe I'll give that a try.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Making Xubuntu look like Windows XP

hi there,