Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    After doing this my cpu spikes ceased to spike around 85% - 95% idling. within my XP Virtualmachine with 512mb dedicated memory. If you happen to have a modern processor (Core2Duo, Athlon/Turion) you can increase your VMs performance by enable hardware virtualization. with your VM shutdown go into the Sun XVM Virtualbox dialogue box. Right-click on your VM go to settings. Click on the advanced tab and check the Enable VT-x/AMDV select ok.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    1

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    Hi, I registered ubuntu forum because of this thread.
    still no workaround yet?
    I suffered this problem for 5 years already.
    It seems my both thinkpad 600x and z60m can not run any virtual machines.
    Sorry to say that I am running opensuse 11.0.
    But I have exact the same problem!!!!
    CPu is always 100% busy regardless whether the guest OS is installed or not.
    as long as the VM is on. even dummy VM will make 100% cpu busy.
    My CPU should be power enough for this.

    model name : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 2.00GHz
    2 GB RAM.

    Regardless how much CPU and How much RAM I tried to assign to virtual machine. it doesn't help.

    Forget to say that. I tried both VMware Workstation and VirtualBox. all VM softwares will give me the same result.

    Since I suffered this for 5 years. I have kept finding solutions. but so far, no luck.

    other people just keep telling me this is impossible. how can they run VMs easily ........

    anyway, hopefully, some virtualbox experts or VM experts around here can provide me some tips.....

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Beans
    225

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    I also suggest the non-free version it has bug fixes and improvements versus the full open version.

    http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Linux_Downloads

    also so people know they do have a repo for intrepid they just don't have it listed.

    deb http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian intrepid non-free

    Make sure to get the verification key too.
    Desktop : 2.1Ghz Athlon 64 x2 65watt, DDR2 800 Mhz 2x1GB RAM (1.5GiB available), ATI x1200 On-Board 512MiB Shared Video RAM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Surrey, UK
    Beans
    1,903
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    Have you tried qemu?

    If you are running an x86 guest on an x86 host kqemu is really fast. (kernel mode accelerator)
    Slow downs come when you are trying to run a, for example, mips guest on an x86 host.
    Because of the translation of commands its a lot slower.

    I use Qemu now, virtual box I found to be too slow, vmware is too bulky and proprietry (and very slow).
    Also your processor is quite slow and outdated, with a faster processor you will end up with much better performance.
    And also having dual cores helps a lot (as you obviously have the guest running mainly on one core and your host mainly on the other)
    I currently run XP in a qemu virtual guest on my laptop and my desktop. Its fast enough to use happily on my laptop and its natural speed on my desktop.
    System Specs:
    Desktop: E6420 (@3.4GHz, Water Cooled), 4GB DDR2, 1.6 TB HDs, X1950 Pro (OS Driver),
    Dual Boot Win7/Jaunty, 19" 4:3 + 24" 16:9.
    Laptop: Toshiba L30, T2080 Pentium Dual Core, 2 GB DDR2, 250GB Hard disk.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Beans
    8
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    I has a slightly different issue with xp guest on ubuntu 8.10.

    while the xp guest was idle is was virtualbox sitting at around 70% cpu constant on the host.

    I have since discovered that it was googletalk causing the problem. I uninstalled googletalk and now the cpu usage on the host is 7% while the guest is idle.

    I hope this may help others.

    cheers

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Beans
    304
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    I moved from vmware to VirtualBox recently, and I think I managed to pin this problem more accurately.

    See this bug report:

    http://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/3613

    It would be helpful if you try to repeat this scenario on your VirtualBox installation (by installing and running Google Chrome).

    EDIT: or Google Talk (you need to login)
    Last edited by Delever; March 29th, 2009 at 04:40 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    NZ
    Beans
    5
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    OK, a year down the track and I am using this solution - It seems a bit counter-intuitive but... Run a second VM, in my case, DSL with 64 mb ram (I think DSL can run with as little as 8mb) I turned everything else off (audio usb etc) so as not to interfere with other apps in the real pc. CPU loading comes down to <30%. Apparently it has something to do with Load Balancing of the CPU by VB. I can live with it.

    Post Script: - You don't even need an OS in the VM. Just set up a new VM and boot to "no bootable medium found! System Halted" and it will still do the job"
    Last edited by jed4czar; May 8th, 2009 at 01:50 AM. Reason: Further info

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Londinium
    Beans
    600

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    Quote Originally Posted by jed4czar View Post
    Post Script: - You don't even need an OS in the VM. Just set up a new VM and boot to "no bootable medium found! System Halted" and it will still do the job"
    ROTFL This hardly elegant solution is totally working!
    ThinkPad W500: C2D 2,5GHz, 8GB ram, GPU Intel & ATI, Middleton BIOS, SSD + UltraBay HDD, USB 3.0 ExpressCard, BTRFS + full disk encryption.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Beans
    2

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    thx a lot, seems to work here too, but only slightly changing cpu usage...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Beans
    5

    Re: VirtualBox High CPU Usage

    does not work with me...

    host: ubuntu 9.04 64bit
    guest: windows xp x64 edition

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •