Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Memory issues???

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    $here ? $here : $there
    Beans
    3,717
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Memory issues???

    That's some odd output. It says that the largest memory module you can use is 1G and that the most memory you support on your system is 2G. This isn't my area of expertise but, I would try pulling the 512M memory module and see if you still have the same problems.
    Don't try to make something "fast" until you are able to quantify "slow".

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    Thanks I'll give it a try tomorrow.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    Ok, I've (finally) removed the 512 M memory stick the readout now says this:

    # dmidecode 2.9
    SMBIOS 2.3 present.

    Handle 0x0006, DMI type 5, 20 bytes
    Memory Controller Information
    Error Detecting Method: 64-bit ECC
    Error Correcting Capabilities:
    None
    Supported Interleave: One-way Interleave
    Current Interleave: One-way Interleave
    Maximum Memory Module Size: 1024 MB
    Maximum Total Memory Size: 2048 MB
    Supported Speeds:
    70 ns
    60 ns
    Supported Memory Types:
    Standard
    EDO
    Memory Module Voltage: 3.3 V
    Associated Memory Slots: 2
    0x0007
    0x0008
    Enabled Error Correcting Capabilities:
    None

    Handle 0x0007, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
    Memory Module Information
    Socket Designation: A0
    Bank Connections: 1
    Current Speed: 195 ns
    Type: Other Unknown EDO
    Installed Size: 2048 MB (Double-bank Connection)
    Enabled Size: 2048 MB (Double-bank Connection)
    Error Status: OK

    Handle 0x0008, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
    Memory Module Information
    Socket Designation: A1
    Bank Connections: 2
    Current Speed: 195 ns
    Type: Other Unknown EDO
    Installed Size: Not Installed
    Enabled Size: Not Installed
    Error Status: OK

    Handle 0x0019, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
    Physical Memory Array
    Location: System Board Or Motherboard
    Use: System Memory
    Error Correction Type: None
    Maximum Capacity: 1 GB
    Error Information Handle: Not Provided
    Number Of Devices: 2

    Handle 0x001A, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
    Memory Device
    Array Handle: 0x0019
    Error Information Handle: Not Provided
    Total Width: 64 bits
    Data Width: 64 bits
    Size: 2048 MB
    Form Factor: DIMM
    Set: None
    Locator: A0
    Bank Locator: Bank0/1
    Type: Unknown
    Type Detail: None
    Speed: 400 MHz (2.5 ns)
    Manufacturer:
    Serial Number:
    Asset Tag:
    Part Number:

    Handle 0x001B, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
    Memory Device
    Array Handle: 0x0019
    Error Information Handle: Not Provided
    Total Width: 64 bits
    Data Width: 64 bits
    Size: No Module Installed
    Form Factor: DIMM
    Set: None
    Locator: A1
    Bank Locator: Bank2/3
    Type: Unknown
    Type Detail: None
    Speed: 400 MHz (2.5 ns)
    Manufacturer:
    Serial Number:
    Asset Tag:
    Part Number:


    ps. how do I get all this into one of those gnarly scrolling text boxes???

    pps. It still means little to me but it seems to be saying the same thing - minus the ram from the removed card of course. So, to recap Ive been trying to get ubuntu working for 2 weeks now. This is NOT fun. I need to use Blender but it maxes out cpu use while leaving all the installed ram largely untouched. The result is it crawls maddeningly, then eventually freezes. Anyone? Any ideas?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Zoo
    Beans
    150
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Memory issues???

    Hey ross_m

    to put the code in a code box choose New Reply and then select the text and choose the # button in the HTML editor, to wrap code tags around the selected text.

    Sorry can't offer any real help on the Blender issue.

    A couple ideas would be:

    Try posting in the Multimedia Production forum.

    A search there for "blender" could possibly help:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/search.php?searchid=43515438


    Perhaps could try Ubuntu Studio - the kernel is optimized for multimedia production in that version.

    Could see if Gutsy has the same issue or it;'s unique to Hardy.

    Good luck - hang in there.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    $here ? $here : $there
    Beans
    3,717
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Memory issues???

    What is the output of the following commands:

    Code:
    lspci
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep direct
    Code:
    ps aux | grep compiz
    Don't try to make something "fast" until you are able to quantify "slow".

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: Memory issues???

    Why are you messing around with ram if the process is slow because its cpu intensive?

    Ram is memory, its is not directly related to cpu cycles at all.

    You can have all the ram in the world, but if you put all your cpus into an infinite loop on a thread that doesn't give up priority your machine will be utterly unusable. Having dual cpus helps as one cpu is potentially still free to respond if the other is busy, but if both are busy you are still going to have to wait.

    This doesn't, to me, look like anything necessarily to do with ram at all.

    Blender is a 3d modelling program right? unless it is able to use the video card to do some of its projections/3D matrix modelling it is going to be very hard on CPU usage. Chances are thats just how much its hammering your cpu, and if thats the case your only option is to buy another faster pc, or go make a cup of tea.

    If you have some actual reason to think its not just needing that much cpu, what is it?

    If you are convinced that it should be better, I'd look at your video card drivers before the ram.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    Quote Originally Posted by vor View Post
    What is the output of the following commands:

    Code:
    lspci
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep direct
    Code:
    ps aux | grep compiz

    Hi vor, I've been offline. Hope you're stiull around

    Code:
     lspci
    00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
    00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
    00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
    00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a2)
    00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a2)
    00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
    00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
    00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
    00:07.0 Bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Ethernet (rev a2)
    00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
    00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GeForce 6100 nForce 400 (rev a2)
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    
     glxinfo | grep direct
    direct rendering: Yes
    
    $ ps aux | grep compiz
    rmunro    6071  0.0  0.0   5164   840 pts/0    R+   09:22   0:00 grep compiz

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    Quote Originally Posted by issih View Post
    Why are you messing around with ram if the process is slow because its cpu intensive?
    not messing with anything brother, just trying to get this thing working.

    Quote Originally Posted by issih View Post
    Blender is a 3d modelling program right? unless it is able to use the video card to do some of its projections/3D matrix modelling it is going to be very hard on CPU usage. Chances are thats just how much its hammering your cpu, and if thats the case your only option is to buy another faster pc, or go make a cup of tea.

    If you have some actual reason to think its not just needing that much cpu, what is it?
    The actual reason is that it worked fine on XP, no major demands on cpu at all.

    Quote Originally Posted by issih View Post
    If you are convinced that it should be better, I'd look at your video card drivers before the ram.
    And one look at the thousands of threads involved in getting video card drivers working under Hardy indicates you're probably right. It's NVidia 6100. Any ideas??

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The Zoo
    Beans
    150
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Memory issues???

    Noticed this thread today, some other folks having similar issues - http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=788964

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •