Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Memory issues???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Memory issues???

    Blender is locking up on me because the cpu is maxing out when I have shitloads of ram available. Is there a blender or ubuntu tweak that might help. Pleeease!!!

    ps. posted something similar recently but it seems to have disappeared! Apologies if I'm harping,

    Ross

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    bay area, california
    Beans
    197
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Memory issues???

    Quote Originally Posted by ross_m View Post
    Blender is locking up on me because the cpu is maxing out when I have shitloads of ram available. Is there a blender or ubuntu tweak that might help. Pleeease!!!

    ps. posted something similar recently but it seems to have disappeared! Apologies if I'm harping,

    Ross
    I also run Ubuntu on an old super-portable Sony C1 with 380k of memeory and a Transmeta Crusoe processor that runs at 50% without any apps open and maxes out at 98-100%... and it is never an issue, it runs slowly, but very stable. The problem may be the proces that is causing out the CPU to max out, rather than the fact the CPU is maxed out...?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    West Coast USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Memory issues???

    Quote Originally Posted by ross_m View Post
    Blender is locking up on me because the cpu is maxing out when I have shitloads of ram available. Is there a blender or ubuntu tweak that might help. Pleeease!!!

    ps. posted something similar recently but it seems to have disappeared! Apologies if I'm harping,

    Ross
    Not to harp, but maybe it was deleted because of the language...

    (Think family friendly)

    CPU and RAM are two different beasts, and if something is causing a very high CPU load, all the ram in the world can't help out.

    Post your system specs please
    Last edited by randy78; June 23rd, 2008 at 03:02 AM. Reason: Clarification
    Helping people crawl out of their Windoze...
    Please read THIS before asking if Anti-Virus and Firewalls are needed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    Ubuntu 8.04 (hardy)
    kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
    Gnome 2.22.2

    memory 2.4 GiB
    processor amd athlon 64 3500+

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    West Coast USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Memory issues???

    Quote Originally Posted by ross_m View Post
    Ubuntu 8.04 (hardy)
    kernel 2.6.24-19-generic
    Gnome 2.22.2

    memory 2.4 GiB
    processor amd athlon 64 3500+
    Are you using the 64 bit version of Hardy or 32 bit?
    Helping people crawl out of their Windoze...
    Please read THIS before asking if Anti-Virus and Firewalls are needed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    64 bit
    I think

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    West Coast USA
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Memory issues???

    Quote Originally Posted by ross_m View Post
    64 bit
    I think
    Double check to make sure...

    Are you running Compiz while trying to use Blender?

    Compiz is heavy on the video card and should be disabled before using any graphics-intensive apps.

    Also, is all of your memory the same speed?
    This can be a source of trouble and should be checked
    Last edited by randy78; June 23rd, 2008 at 04:49 AM. Reason: Added info
    Helping people crawl out of their Windoze...
    Please read THIS before asking if Anti-Virus and Firewalls are needed.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    I did check - with 'uname -a' in the terminal which gives this result:
    "Linux Rangi 2.6.24-19-generic #1 SMP Wed Jun 4 15:10:52 UTC 2008 x86_64 GNU/Linux"
    I'm assuming the "x86_64 GNU/Linux" means it is.

    I have disabled Compiz. That is - I have disabled all desktop effects.

    Is all my memory the same speed? How would I find that out?

    I do know that when Blender freezes, and it eventually does, the blender terminal seems to get locked up trying to sort out the GL libraries, then when I reboot I get an error message something about the gnome daemon unable to get settings. Is this at all related?

    ps. I really appreciate your help in this

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    $here ? $here : $there
    Beans
    3,717
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Memory issues???

    You might be able to see the speed of all your memory with:

    Code:
    sudo dmidecode --type memory
    Don't try to make something "fast" until you are able to quantify "slow".

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Beans
    19

    Re: Memory issues???

    Quote Originally Posted by vor View Post
    You might be able to see the speed of all your memory with:

    Code:
    sudo dmidecode --type memory
    Thanks for the hint vor. I did that and get this:

    # dmidecode 2.9
    SMBIOS 2.3 present.

    Handle 0x0006, DMI type 5, 20 bytes
    Memory Controller Information
    Error Detecting Method: 64-bit ECC
    Error Correcting Capabilities:
    None
    Supported Interleave: One-way Interleave
    Current Interleave: One-way Interleave
    Maximum Memory Module Size: 1024 MB
    Maximum Total Memory Size: 2048 MB
    Supported Speeds:
    70 ns
    60 ns
    Supported Memory Types:
    Standard
    EDO
    Memory Module Voltage: 3.3 V
    Associated Memory Slots: 2
    0x0007
    0x0008
    Enabled Error Correcting Capabilities:
    None

    Handle 0x0007, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
    Memory Module Information
    Socket Designation: A0
    Bank Connections: 1
    Current Speed: 89 ns
    Type: Other Unknown EDO
    Installed Size: 512 MB (Single-bank Connection)
    Enabled Size: 512 MB (Single-bank Connection)
    Error Status: OK

    Handle 0x0008, DMI type 6, 12 bytes
    Memory Module Information
    Socket Designation: A1
    Bank Connections: 2
    Current Speed: 89 ns
    Type: Other Unknown EDO
    Installed Size: 2048 MB (Double-bank Connection)
    Enabled Size: 2048 MB (Double-bank Connection)
    Error Status: OK

    Handle 0x0019, DMI type 16, 15 bytes
    Physical Memory Array
    Location: System Board Or Motherboard
    Use: System Memory
    Error Correction Type: None
    Maximum Capacity: 1 GB
    Error Information Handle: Not Provided
    Number Of Devices: 2

    Handle 0x001A, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
    Memory Device
    Array Handle: 0x0019
    Error Information Handle: Not Provided
    Total Width: 64 bits
    Data Width: 64 bits
    Size: 512 MB
    Form Factor: DIMM
    Set: None
    Locator: A0
    Bank Locator: Bank0/1
    Type: Unknown
    Type Detail: None
    Speed: 400 MHz (2.5 ns)
    Manufacturer:
    Serial Number:
    Asset Tag:
    Part Number:

    Handle 0x001B, DMI type 17, 27 bytes
    Memory Device
    Array Handle: 0x0019
    Error Information Handle: Not Provided
    Total Width: 64 bits
    Data Width: 64 bits
    Size: 2048 MB
    Form Factor: DIMM
    Set: None
    Locator: A1
    Bank Locator: Bank2/3
    Type: Unknown
    Type Detail: None
    Speed: 400 MHz (2.5 ns)
    Manufacturer:
    Serial Number:
    Asset Tag:
    Part Number:
    Sorry but this is all a bit eye-watering for me. Any clues as to whether all of this is a Good Thing or not

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •